Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Motorhome Tech Topics
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-27-2020, 09:55 PM   #1
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Siesta
State: California
Posts: 76
THOR #3975
RV charging at home = instantaneous home GFCI pop

Not sure if I have a problem, or just a basic incompatibility.

I have a Thor Siesta. 30 amp power. On the road, I use a Progressive surge protector. No problems, except one place that did generate an error from the electric connection they gave me - tried another and it worked fine.

Anyway, I had the RV at home, and for some reason, I wanted to plug it into my home's standard electrical circuit - for charging, or some other reason. I used a dogbone adapter - plugged in the surge protector - no errors. Plugged the RV cord into the surge protector - INSTANT shutdown. Turned out the GFCI on that home electrical circuit had popped. Tried a different circuit - same thing. May have tried it without the surge protector - not sure I was brave enough...

Anyway - should this happen? Does it indicate a problem in either the home or RV wiring? Or ???

Thanks
Dan K
__________________

__________________
lspotho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2020, 10:15 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
ducksface's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2018 24.1 AXISSIXxSIX
State: Arizona
Posts: 1,419
THOR #13932
Mine was a dead short whenever I out out the slider. Popped only shore power, nothing else.
But
Anything with a piezio lighter will pop a gfci if given the chance.

Just theory and past experiences.
__________________

__________________
Below is a link to most of my modifications either accomplished or pending.
https://www.thorforums.com/forums/f2...n-18996-3.html

Click on my pictures then click the pop-up for a full screen zoomable picture.
ducksface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2020, 10:25 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 25.2 Axis
State: Tennessee
Posts: 442
THOR #3471
Turn everything off before you plug into house. House circuit im only 15 amp. Wonít run your air or microwave
__________________
Hugh.vines@att.net is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2020, 10:56 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
MJC62's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: A.C.E. 27.2
State: Indiana
Posts: 562
THOR #14698
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hugh.vines@att.net View Post
Turn everything off before you plug into house. House circuit im only 15 amp. Wonít run your air or microwave
Hugh may be on the right track.
Is the fridge on electric? Hot water heater electric turned on? Any other electric loads turned on. Doesn't take much to pop a 15A breaker.
Another thought, is the power cord plug laying on damp ground? That could pop the GFCI.

If you plan on plugging MH in at home I suggest putting in a designated 30 amp circuit in the breaker box and a 30amp outlet in the garage.

We did and no more popping a circuit breaker when trying to cool the MH with the fridge on in the summer.
__________________
2018 ACE 27.2
Toad 2019 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk
Roadmaster Falcon All Terrain Towbar
Roadmaster Invisibrake
MJC62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2020, 10:58 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 29h outlaw
State: New Jersey
Posts: 272
THOR #5248
Had my rv pop the gfci once in awhile at home. Found moisture in the outside receptical. Dryed it out then sealed it better than the factory. No problems since ....(knock wood)
__________________
Trkyte@msn.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2020, 11:00 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 29M
State: Texas
Posts: 764
THOR #11781
No good answer but a suggestion for trouble shooting. Turn off all the RV breakers, then plug it in. Turn on one circuit at a time until you get to the amp rating of the house circuit. You may have over whelmed the house circuit.
__________________
Lt Keefer
2018 Hurricane 29M
CHF, Saf-T-Plus, SumoSprings
Lt Keefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2020, 11:06 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
dkoldman's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Sunstar 29VE Winnebago
State: Texas
Posts: 388
THOR #13058
Have you tried on circuit without the ground fault receptacle on it?
Why are you concerned with trying to bypassing the surge protector? It is 15 amps and you have a breaker.

I had something similar when I first started using my home generator as a 30 amp source. I had error popping up telling me I had floating ground. I made my own little device to trick the genset to thinking I had proper ground and presto no more issues.

My money says it is something within your house wiring. Assuming you have successfully run off a 15 amp receptacle someplace else with same surge protector would prove it.
__________________
2019 Sunstar 29VE w/Magellan Tent
Safe T Plus EC-30 AGS
Nighthawk X4 AC2200 WiFi EX7300; H/W Heater & Chassis Disconnect Switches
dkoldman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2020, 12:08 AM   #8
Site Team
 
EA37TS's Avatar
 
Brand: Entegra
Model: Entegra Accolade 37TS
State: Virginia
Posts: 3,922
THOR #1469
Plug into a non-gfci outlet on the house and you should be good. Folks had all kinds of problems with that about 5 years ago. Lot of discussions on the forum.
__________________
EA37TS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2020, 12:13 AM   #9
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Siesta
State: California
Posts: 76
THOR #3975
Thanks for all the replies. A little more info:

I am pretty sure nothing was turned on inside the RV - altho the Use/store switch was probably in Use mode. I will try again - fridge might have been on in Auto mode..

I don't normally have any reason to plug the RV in at home - we are usually just loading up before a trip, or unloading after. Like I said, not sure why I was doing this in the first place - but I was surprised / concerned that the GFCI popped - I could understand the house's circuit breaker popping if I drew to much power...

I am pretty sure everything was dry but anything is possible. I think ALL my house circuits have GFCIs - so I cannot (easily) run a test without that. If I were doing this often, I would certainly put in a 30amp circuit.

Mainly I was concerned that the RV had some wiring problem and was waiting to kill me!

We are going home tomorrow from a visit to Joshua Tree and Anza Borrego - both terrific - if I have a chance, I'll try this again.

Thanks again for all the feedback.
Dan
__________________
lspotho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2020, 12:26 AM   #10
Site Team
 
16ACE27's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 3,781
THOR #7035
Your RV may have the ground and neutral bonded (Not supposed to be in the RV) This almost always causes a house GFCI to trip (It's not overcurrent, it's ground fault). As mentioned above, just find a receptacle that isn't on the house GFCI circuit and you should be good.
__________________
Ted & Melinda
2016 ACE 27.1
2016 Chevy Sonic Toad
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2020, 12:49 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Newmar Bay Star Sport 300
State: Alabama
Posts: 1,920
THOR #6826
Itís been my experience that it often does not work to have one GFI outlet downstream of another. Iíd agree with the suggestion to try a non GFI outlet at your home
__________________
Pete'sMH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2020, 06:08 AM   #12
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Siesta
State: California
Posts: 76
THOR #3975
Quote:
Originally Posted by 16ACE27 View Post
Your RV may have the ground and neutral bonded
Is this bad / serious? Forgive me - my knowledge of electricity is pretty basic...

Not trying to be flippant here - but obviously using a circuit without a GFCI installed means: no GFCI will pop. Does an RV usually have a GFCI built in?

Anyway, I will pursue getting a 30 amp circuit installed at home...
Thanks again
Dan
__________________
lspotho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2020, 01:24 PM   #13
Site Team
 
16ACE27's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 3,781
THOR #7035
Quote:
Originally Posted by lspotho View Post
Is this bad / serious? Forgive me - my knowledge of electricity is pretty basic...

Not trying to be flippant here - but obviously using a circuit without a GFCI installed means: no GFCI will pop. Does an RV usually have a GFCI built in?

Anyway, I will pursue getting a 30 amp circuit installed at home...
Thanks again
Dan
Ground and neutral are normally bonded at the "source". They are bonded at the main panel in your home. If bonded at the "load" (your RV) then the GFCI in your home may see different current on the neutral leg than the hot leg because some current may return on the ground leg. This is what trips the GFCI.

You do have at least one GFCI circuit in your RV as well, certainly in the bathroom, maybe near the kitchen sink, outdoor receptacle, and fridge.
__________________
Ted & Melinda
2016 ACE 27.1
2016 Chevy Sonic Toad
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2020, 02:05 PM   #14
Site Team
 
EA37TS's Avatar
 
Brand: Entegra
Model: Entegra Accolade 37TS
State: Virginia
Posts: 3,922
THOR #1469
FWIW here is a link from a thread on this topic from a number of years ago.

From what I recall the RV has a grounded circuit/system because of generator etc... and when plugged into the GFCI at home the home circuit is picking up the RV circuit as a short to ground and tripping the house GFCI breaker. Known problem with plugging RVs into house 15amp GFCI protected outlets for years.

https://www.thorforums.com/forums/f8...tlet-5473.html

I am not an electrician or a subject matter expert on electricity so you have my disclaimer.

Happy reading.
__________________
Dave
US Army (Ret)
2020 Entegra Accolade 37TS
2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee Trailhawk (Toad)
FMCA - F432054
EA37TS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2020, 06:54 PM   #15
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Vegas 24.1
State: California
Posts: 8
THOR #10144
If you have a inverter you can not plug into a gfi outlet. The gfi thinks you have a dead short. It took me two days to figure that out.
__________________
seadoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2020, 09:56 PM   #16
lug
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 32.1
State: Michigan
Posts: 85
THOR #11442
I've always tripped my GFCI before plugging in my RV then reset the outlet. It works for me.
__________________
lug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2020, 08:13 PM   #17
Member
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Newmar Ventana LE
State: Tennessee
Posts: 54
THOR #16834
Quote:
Originally Posted by MJC62 View Post
Hugh may be on the right track.
Is the fridge on electric? Hot water heater electric turned on? Any other electric loads turned on. Doesn't take much to pop a 15A breaker.
Another thought, is the power cord plug laying on damp ground? That could pop the GFCI.

If you plan on plugging MH in at home I suggest putting in a designated 30 amp circuit in the breaker box and a 30amp outlet in the garage.

We did and no more popping a circuit breaker when trying to cool the MH with the fridge on in the summer.
Agree. What he said.

When we first got our Thor Citation Sprinter, I used an adapter to 30a to the 15a GFCI on the front porch. This was to get the fridge cold the night before loading up for a trip. At first, it worked okay, but if you turned anything on, the GFCI would trip. All my garage and outdoor circuits are on a GFCI circuit. I finally gave up and installed a dedicated 30a 120v RV outlet next to the breaker panel in the garage, which was close enough to the door that I could reach it with the RV cord.

As a side note, last fall my wife's aunt and uncle came through for a night's stay with their class B. I don't know what amperage is power was but it was probably 20a. They only wanted to keep the fridge cold. Every outdoor outlet, that we tried, would trip the GFCI. Finally, I found out that he had a 15a/20a to 30a adapter and we used my 30a RV outlet. No more problem.

We take delivery on a new DP next week and I intend to upgrade that 30a RV outlet to a 50a one, change the #10 wire to the panel to #8 (it's only a couple of feet at most).
__________________
Formerly 2017 Citation Sprinter
2019 Newmar Ventana LE 3412
2014 Honda CR-V
Mr.Goodbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2020, 08:27 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Brand: Keystone
Model: Sprinter
State: Florida
Posts: 647
THOR #15553
There is 2 ways to fix this common GFI Problem.

1- plug your RV into an non-GFI protected outlet. You don't need it because your Rv has one in the proper places.

2- turn off the GFI circuit in you RV. Many times, and nobody know why, 2 GFI in series don't play nice. I have proven it with my 2 trailers parked side by side. Neither one would work on 2 GFI's. It seams to be a Quality issue with the GFI's.
__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter 323BHS. Retired Master Electrician. All Motor Homes are RV's. All RV's are not Motor Homes.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2020, 08:54 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Brand: Still Looking
State: Texas
Posts: 4,273
THOR #2121
I had a grounded neutral for many years which wasnít an issue as long as I didnít try to connect to GFI protected outlet. As soon as I did, the GFI tripped. Even with main RV 30-Amp breaker off, it tripped instantly.

It didnít concern me until we stayed at a campground which had updated their 30-Amp electrical at pedestals to include GFI.

Just saying I would not ignore the issue on the basis that if the ground and neutral are somehow connected in your RV (most likely unintentionally and not by design), one day you may pull into a campground with GFI on 30A service and have issues.

Installing a 30A service at home may circumvent this issue, but is not a great fix in my opinion. You may want it anyway in order to power more items at once, but doesnít address the underlying issue. Iíd have to know what was causing GFI to trip.
__________________
Chance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2020, 08:56 PM   #20
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Siesta
State: California
Posts: 76
THOR #3975
Quote:
Originally Posted by 16ACE27 View Post
You do have at least one GFCI circuit in your RV as well, certainly in the bathroom, maybe near the kitchen sink, outdoor receptacle, and fridge.

Thanks - I was thinking it might be somewhere else in the electrical system - but your message reminds me to consider the obvious answer first!


Dan
__________________

__________________
lspotho is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 09:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
×