RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
 

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Motorhome Tech Topics
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-24-2016, 09:37 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Four Winds, 28z
State: Georgia
Posts: 4
THOR #4002
Is it safe to start generator while on Shore power?

We have a 2016 Thor Four Winds 28z and I am wanting to start the generator for "exercise" but I am currently plugged into shore power. I would like to know if I need to disconnect before turning the genny on.

I figure the Automatic Transfer Relay should be able to handle "what to do", but I want to be sure and I tend to believe there are others out there with this question looking for a PRO answer that they can trust before cranking it up.
__________________

__________________
nalasha79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2016, 09:46 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2015 Vegas 25.2
State: Oregon
Posts: 911
THOR #2271
Doesn't matter. You can start it up if you are plugged into shore power or not. BUT, if you are starting it up to exercise it (as recommended - once a month), unplug it and turn on the air to put a load on the generator.

Another excellent idea is to change the oil and filter after the first 10 hours.
__________________

__________________
Added: HWH Kick-Down Leveler; RoadMaster Anti-sway bars; Tornado Rotary Tank Rinser; Accede Backup Sensor Kit; cylinder locks (w/one combo lock); custom sink cover; Kenwood DDX 5706S front radio; Pioneer MVH-X5560BT rear radio; Oxygenics Shower head; ScanGuage II; Blue Ox Tow Bar w/RVi Brake 2; Winegard Rayzar Automatic TV antenna; Trimark Steel door lock; Dometic 310 toilet; whatever is next.
gbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2016, 09:50 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Four Winds, 28z
State: Georgia
Posts: 4
THOR #4002
Thanks for this information!
__________________
nalasha79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2016, 11:25 PM   #4
Kev
Senior Member
 
Kev's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Windsport
State: Florida
Posts: 740
THOR #3918
Generator

Quote:
Originally Posted by gbrown View Post
Doesn't matter. You can start it up if you are plugged into shore power or not. BUT, if you are starting it up to exercise it (as recommended - once a month), unplug it and turn on the air to put a load on the generator.

Another excellent idea is to change the oil and filter after the first 10 hours.
Is there a filter on this generator? I changed the oil did realize there is also a filter.

Kev
__________________
Kev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2016, 11:50 PM   #5
Site Team
 
EA37TS's Avatar
 
Brand: Entegra
Model: Accolade 37TS
State: Virginia
Posts: 4,912
THOR #1469
When starting the generator you can keep shore power plugged in because the ATS will automatically switch the power over to the generator. It is advised that you disconnect from shore power because the transfer from shore to generator could cause some arching and premature wear on the ATS contacts if both are under power during the transfer to shore and back again when the generator is turned off.

When I exercise the generator I simply kill the breaker to my 50 Amp receptacle and leave the cord plugged in. Once the generator is shut down I then turn the 50 amp breaker back on.
__________________
Dave
US Army (Ret)
2020 Entegra Accolade 37TS
2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee Trailhawk (Toad)
FMCA - F432054
EA37TS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2016, 12:47 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Brand: Still Looking
State: Texas
Posts: 4,964
THOR #2121
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbrown View Post
Doesn't matter. You can start it up if you are plugged into shore power or not. BUT, if you are starting it up to exercise it (as recommended - once a month), unplug it and turn on the air to put a load on the generator.

Another excellent idea is to change the oil and filter after the first 10 hours.
Great point on placing a load on generator to exercise it. In winter or cold/cooler weather the air conditioner may not put much load on generator, so I used a portable 1500-watt heater instead. I don't like running AC when it's too cold anyway.
__________________
Chance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2016, 01:55 AM   #7
Axis/Vegas Enthusiast
 
JamieGeek's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 24.1
State: Michigan
Posts: 9,247
THOR #1150
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chance
Great point on placing a load on generator to exercise it. In winter or cold/cooler weather the air conditioner may not put much load on generator, so I used a portable 1500-watt heater instead. I don't like running AC when it's too cold anyway.
This is exactly what I do as well.
__________________
2014 Thor Axis 24.1
2021 Mach-E
blog - https://spareelectrons.wordpress.com/
JamieGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2016, 12:01 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Freedom Elite 29fe
State: Florida
Posts: 690
THOR #4656
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kev View Post
Is there a filter on this generator? I changed the oil did realize there is also a filter.

Kev
No filter.
__________________

__________________
nosticks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 08:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
×