Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Motorhome Tech Topics
Click Here to Login

Old 05-26-2015, 02:12 PM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Windsport 34F
State: Florida
THOR #1942
What's the Generator vs Inverter used for?

I'm totally new to RV'ing.

We have a 2015 Thor Windsport 34F. It has an Onan 5500 generator and it also has an inverter system.

I don't understand the difference between the generator and the inverter. What is each used for?

Is the generator used only to charge the batteries, and then the inverter runs everything inside the coach off the batteries?

Can the inverter be used without turning on the generator? I noticed we have a green inverter button we can turn on/off without turning on the generator.

Sorry for the newbie question. Just trying to understand better.

Thanks!

Old 05-26-2015, 02:47 PM   #2

Model: 2014 Hurricane 34f
State: Arkansas
THOR #1845
34f inverter

In our 2014 Hurricane 34f the inverter is there only to run the TVs off of only

the batteries when not running the generator or when not plugged in to shore power. The green inverter button should be on in this situation only.
Old 05-26-2015, 02:59 PM   #3
Site Team

Brand: Entegra
Model: Accolade 37TS
State: South Dakota
THOR #1469
Quote:
Originally Posted by fivekitties View Post
I'm totally new to RV'ing.

We have a 2015 Thor Windsport 34F. It has an Onan 5500 generator and it also has an inverter system.

I don't understand the difference between the generator and the inverter. What is each used for?

Is the generator used only to charge the batteries, and then the inverter runs everything inside the coach off the batteries?

Can the inverter be used without turning on the generator? I noticed we have a green inverter button we can turn on/off without turning on the generator.