RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
 

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Motorhome Tech Topics
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-11-2020, 06:12 AM   #61
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Chateau 22E
State: Massachusetts
Posts: 13
THOR #19104
The Winegard connect 2.0 came on the unit a recently bought. I've noticed it seems to be powered at all times (based on flashing leds) and I can't find a power switch ... anyone knows how to entirely power it off?
__________________

__________________
Proto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2020, 06:18 AM   #62
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Delano
State: Idaho
Posts: 31
THOR #18821
Quote:
Originally Posted by Proto View Post
The Winegard connect 2.0 came on the unit a recently bought. I've noticed it seems to be powered at all times (based on flashing leds) and I can't find a power switch ... anyone knows how to entirely power it off?
Newer models are on all the time. You would need to find the fuse for it, and hope nothing else is on there same circuit.
__________________

__________________
crater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2020, 02:25 PM   #63
Senior Member
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Newmar Bay Star Sport 300
State: Alabama
Posts: 3,083
THOR #6826
Quote:
Originally Posted by EA37TS View Post
Your Winegard may not be the Connect 2. Although they look similar the Winegard antenna that is being installed on some rigs is not the Connect 2 and is not a WIFI booster or capable of 4G LTE service. My daughters TTG has the Winegard antenna and at first glance they look the same.


There are two models of Connect 2. The cheaper model is only a WiFi booster while the more common version adds the 4G LTE capability. I have the cheaper version and it meets our modest needs.
__________________
Pete'sMH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2020, 02:26 PM   #64
Senior Member
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Newmar Bay Star Sport 300
State: Alabama
Posts: 3,083
THOR #6826
Quote:
Originally Posted by RAWeems View Post
You connected the ConnecT to your home Wi-Fi?


Sure. It’s a WiFi extender and if it’s in range of your home network it can connect just like any other device does.
__________________
Pete'sMH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2020, 03:24 PM   #65
Senior Member
 
macdaddy1111's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 35m
State: North Carolina
Posts: 230
THOR #13505
Winegard power!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Proto View Post
The Winegard connect 2.0 came on the unit a recently bought. I've noticed it seems to be powered at all times (based on flashing leds) and I can't find a power switch ... anyone knows how to entirely power it off?

I figured out if I turn off the main power barrel switch it will kill power to the unit. I have a Thor Hurricane

I also found in the cabinet with HD switch for tv's there is a push button switch that turns off the HDTV to the tv's

Here is a pic of what it looks like inside!!

My winegard sim card or sim slot card it goes into fried couple weeks back and I was rebooting, pwr cycled, etc. Winegard customer service is a joke! all they wanted was me to prove it came with RV!! Gave up with them and had service department at our warranty shop take over!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	winegardinside.jpg
Views:	105
Size:	124.0 KB
ID:	24176  
__________________
macdaddy1111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2020, 04:15 PM   #66
Site Team
 
EA37TS's Avatar
 
Brand: Entegra
Model: Accolade 37TS
State: Virginia
Posts: 4,827
THOR #1469
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete'sMH View Post
There are two models of Connect 2. The cheaper model is only a WiFi booster while the more common version adds the 4G LTE capability. I have the cheaper version and it meets our modest needs.
The Connect 2 WF2 is WiFi only. The Connect 2 4G2 is WiFi and 4G LTE.
__________________
Dave
US Army (Ret)
2020 Entegra Accolade 37TS
2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee Trailhawk (Toad)
FMCA - F432054
EA37TS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2020, 03:40 AM   #67
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Chateau 22E
State: Massachusetts
Posts: 13
THOR #19104
Quote:
Originally Posted by macdaddy1111 View Post
I figured out if I turn off the main power barrel switch it will kill power to the unit.

same on mine ... but I'd like to power it down while keeping the 12V DC on. As far as I can tell there is no switch. It's not on its own fuse. And there is supposed to be a fuse on the +ve 12V feed to the unit but I can't find a way to get to it. That's becoming frustrating!


Is the power feed directly soldered to a board inside the unit?
__________________
Proto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2020, 05:33 PM   #68
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Vegas 24.1
State: Alabama
Posts: 30
THOR #18612
Quote:
Originally Posted by Proto View Post
same on mine ... but I'd like to power it down while keeping the 12V DC on. As far as I can tell there is no switch. It's not on its own fuse. And there is supposed to be a fuse on the +ve 12V feed to the unit but I can't find a way to get to it. That's becoming frustrating!


Is the power feed directly soldered to a board inside the unit?


I agree that it is frustrating. I had a situation where the Winegard Wi-Fi was available but it was not bridging properly to the source and it was not responding to the app. The only solution I came up with was to fully power down the coach for a few minutes and bring it back up. A full “coach reboot”. It did solve the problem so let’s hope I don’t have to do this as often as my home router.
__________________
jdurnwald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2020, 03:16 AM   #69
Junior Member
 
State: California
Posts: 12
THOR #19275
I am having nothing but trouble with my winegard connect 2.0 I can see it on my phone or tablet but it won't connect to the internet no way no how factory reset and it won't recognize the factory password is it a dud
__________________
LMhawk59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2020, 11:16 AM   #70
Senior Member
 
Judge's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2020 Magnitude SV34
State: Florida
Posts: 1,543
THOR #12751
Quote:
Originally Posted by LMhawk59 View Post
I am having nothing but trouble with my winegard connect 2.0 I can see it on my phone or tablet but it won't connect to the internet no way no how factory reset and it won't recognize the factory password is it a dud
If you read the manual, you will see two way to perform a factory reset. You can either climb on the roof and press the reset button or you can power the unit on and off 3 times to reset it. Se attached...

Thor does not install a power switch so you will need to be unplugged from shore power and then turn off the 12V power in the coach by switching the Use / Store switch to Store.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2020-08-07 at 6.13.01 AM.jpg
Views:	114
Size:	76.7 KB
ID:	25423  
__________________
Judge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2020, 12:51 PM   #71
Site Team
 
EA37TS's Avatar
 
Brand: Entegra
Model: Accolade 37TS
State: Virginia
Posts: 4,827
THOR #1469
Quote:
Originally Posted by LMhawk59 View Post
I am having nothing but trouble with my winegard connect 2.0 I can see it on my phone or tablet but it won't connect to the internet no way no how factory reset and it won't recognize the factory password is it a dud
After, as Judge mentions, you do the factory reset you will need to go into the app and select the internet source. There are, I believe, 3 options which are No Internet, WiFi and 4G. From the factory (non Thor installed) ours came set to No Internet.
__________________
Dave
US Army (Ret)
2020 Entegra Accolade 37TS
2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee Trailhawk (Toad)
FMCA - F432054
EA37TS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2020, 01:47 PM   #72
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Siesta 24SS
State: California
Posts: 1,007
THOR #12698
My Winegard system that came with the motor home has the 5 black individual antennas and not the dome unit on the roof which I believe is the first version 4gLte system. It does not have the SIM Card port on the base as the dome. I finally got it working after figuring out that whoever installed it had the cable plugged into the wrong port at the control box inside my coach.

Paul
__________________
paulwadley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2020, 02:57 PM   #73
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Quantum JM31
State: Florida
Posts: 8
THOR #19084
Bought a 2020 Quantum a few months ago...here is my experience...took me a while to figure out.

My system is hardwired...always on.

It is a Winegard Connect 2.0 “runs with TOGO.” The “runs with TOGO” is important because the info about opening a web page with 10.11.12.1 doesn’t apply. TOGO is Thor’s own RV app for sites, maintenance schedules, etc. and for some reason you have to have a TOGO account paired with the unit to continue with the Connect2 setup. I believe it is through this app via the Winegard app that you can buy data plans through AT&T.

You can download both the TOGO app and the Winegard Connected app: the Winegard Connected app is how you will connect to the WiFi at any location and is the primary app.

The password shown on the front of the paperwork that came with the coach just connects your device (ipad, etc.) to the unit on the roof.

At this point for me, it was all good until I opened the Winegard Connect app...it was asking for a password that I thought was Admin...but it would not take it. I ended up calling Winegard...and they gave me a 12 character password that activated the app. After that I was golden....the app is self explanatory for WiFi search and connect, buying data, etc.

I went the round about trial and error method...frustrating...but I believe if you follow the publication (if you have it) step by step it will be less so (I didn’t).

Hope this helps.
__________________
bus2king is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2020, 07:56 PM   #74
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Siesta 24SS
State: California
Posts: 1,007
THOR #12698
My password was listed on the back of the control box. I did go with the winegard data plan for now. Will be using it at the end of the month when we go from So. Calif to the Salt Lake area for a few days. My unit is also hardwired so when the coach is switched on, the system is on.

Paul
__________________
paulwadley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2020, 08:48 PM   #75
Senior Member
 
macdaddy1111's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 35m
State: North Carolina
Posts: 230
THOR #13505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Judge View Post
If you read the manual, you will see two way to perform a factory reset. You can either climb on the roof and press the reset button or you can power the unit on and off 3 times to reset it. Se attached...

Thor does not install a power switch so you will need to be unplugged from shore power and then turn off the 12V power in the coach by switching the Use / Store switch to Store.
Hey Judge

the new one they shipping and installing now has power button now. They shipped me to the new switch with the new unit I had to replace. think i am going to use 5v phone charger to power it since I have outlet right next to it. Or wait and have it done as warranty work in Oct when get back from our month trip.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	winegard1.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	131.7 KB
ID:	25447   Click image for larger version

Name:	winegard2.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	80.1 KB
ID:	25448  

__________________
Retired Squid who has a retired squid that drives him around in a RV!
macdaddy1111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2020, 04:28 AM   #76
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 25.6
State: Texas
Posts: 42
THOR #19026
Quote:
Originally Posted by RAWeems View Post
How did you get the Winegard to accept the Vetizon card? We just got a card from them today but cannot get it to connect. We have a 2020 Vegas w/the ConnecT 2.0 and having the worst time trying to get online
I have an Axis 2020 and I'm also very frustrated with the dealer, Thor, Winegard and Verizon. Why do I have to have three different passwords? Especially since I don't know which password to use when.. A lot of these troubles are coming from the fact that Thor was too stupid to read the directions and put the switch in . I have finally managed to get the wi-fi system working by pulling and replacing the fuse. But, I still can't get Verizon 4G connected to it. I have the new sim and Verizon home office has authorized it. Any ideas would be appreciated.
__________________
Edki45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2020, 10:30 AM   #77
Senior Member
 
Judge's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2020 Magnitude SV34
State: Florida
Posts: 1,543
THOR #12751
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edki45 View Post
I have an Axis 2020 and I'm also very frustrated with the dealer, Thor, Winegard and Verizon. Why do I have to have three different passwords? Especially since I don't know which password to use when.. A lot of these troubles are coming from the fact that Thor was too stupid to read the directions and put the switch in . I have finally managed to get the wi-fi system working by pulling and replacing the fuse. But, I still can't get Verizon 4G connected to it. I have the new sim and Verizon home office has authorized it. Any ideas would be appreciated.

Three different passwords? What are you talking about?

First, the Winegard ConnecT acts like a router or cable modem at home. You need a password to log in just like you router or cable modem at home so you can configure it.

Then any secure WiFi network will have its own password. You can setup WiFi without a password but then any in the campground will be able to tap into your Internet connection... and potentially hack you.

The password for your Verizon account is not used in the setup of the Winegard.


Once you have the Verizon SIM Card installed in the Winegard, you need to connect to it with a laptop or phone and it's WiFi. The first time you connect to it, you should use it to connect to your home WiFi first so you can go to the Software Update page and check for new updates. Some of the older Winegard units needed to update the firmware and the modem software to connect to Verizon.

Then after you have checked to make sure your software is up to date you need to got to go to the Change Provider page and enter the following:

Cellular Provider: VERIZON
Cellular APN: vzwinternet


You should also use the Scan for Networks option to make sure the unit is seeing a Verizon tower and the signal is above 50%.
__________________
Judge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2020, 10:30 AM   #78
Senior Member
 
Judge's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2020 Magnitude SV34
State: Florida
Posts: 1,543
THOR #12751
Quote:
Originally Posted by macdaddy1111 View Post
Hey Judge

the new one they shipping and installing now has power button now. They shipped me to the new switch with the new unit I had to replace. think i am going to use 5v phone charger to power it since I have outlet right next to it. Or wait and have it done as warranty work in Oct when get back from our month trip.

Thanks Macdaddy!

I'm going to be in Wakarusa next month. I am going to add this to the list to see if they can add it to my coach.
__________________
Judge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2020, 02:38 PM   #79
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Siesta 24SS
State: California
Posts: 1,007
THOR #12698
We went on our trip to Utah and I thought we would be able to use our Winegard system this time since I was able to buy Winegard's data plan. My system is the first version and does not have the ability to ad a sim card. I went through with their tech support last month and had it operating. Once we tried it on this trip, it said that we were connected but no internet. Tried it several times at different locations with the same message. We had to go back to our old reliable Verizon jetpack to get internet which worked every time. I am not giving up on it yet.

Paul
__________________
paulwadley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2020, 02:51 PM   #80
Senior Member
 
Model: 25.2 Axis
State: Arizona
Posts: 623
THOR #3471
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulwadley View Post
We went on our trip to Utah and I thought we would be able to use our Winegard system this time since I was able to buy Winegard's data plan. My system is the first version and does not have the ability to ad a sim card. I went through with their tech support last month and had it operating. Once we tried it on this trip, it said that we were connected but no internet. Tried it several times at different locations with the same message. We had to go back to our old reliable Verizon jetpack to get internet which worked every time. I am not giving up on it yet.

Paul


A phone SIM card will not work on these devices. Check set up and write down all sim that are compatible. Call winegard and ask them how to get to settings with your computer to set to match your provider settings. Ask them what companies are compatible with your unit. You will need serial number. They should give you http address and settings for each provider. Most of these come preset for att sim but can be changed.
__________________

__________________
Hugh.vines@att.net is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 11:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
×