Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Motorcoach & Motorhome > Class A Motor Coach
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 06-15-2021, 02:53 PM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 25.6
State: North Carolina
THOR #23776
Smile 2019 Thor Axis 25.6 - solar question

I am new to the solar scene for RVs... In looking at my RV, it says that it is solar prepped with a controller and wiring to the top of the rig with connectors for panels.

Do I just need to add solar panels to the top to complete the system? I am trying to figure out what type of capacity I will have and how many panels I can install. We don't boondock a lot but would be nice to have some battery reserve when we do - at least to run fans, TVs, and possibly microwave and coffee pot from time to time.

My questions are:

1. how many panels do I need to install (and total wattage) for current system to be at maximum capacity?
2. Does anyone know what the factory Inverter wattage is for the 2019 Axis?
3. Are the factory house batteries good enough for what I mention above or should I invest in some better batteries?
4. Does anyone know what the capacity/limitations are to the factory installed charger in the 2019 AXIS? Is it good enough for my situation?

I definitely don't want to break the bank as I will boondock minimally but would like some capacity for when I do. Thanks to everyone for you help. The posts on here are very helpful!!

Ray D

Old 06-15-2021, 03:51 PM   #2

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 24.1
State: Connecticut
THOR #20289
Answers in bold below:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray&ReginaD View Post
I am new to the solar scene for RVs... In looking at my RV, it says that it is solar prepped with a controller and wiring to the top of the rig with connectors for panels.