Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Motorcoach & Motorhome > Class A Motor Coach
Click Here to Login

Old 09-16-2016, 12:39 AM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis
State: California
THOR #5434
How to keep Refrigerator Cold While Driving?

I'm a total newbie! How do I keep the refrigerator cold while driving? Do
I run it on the propane? Or does running the engine keep it cold?

Old 09-16-2016, 12:59 AM   #2

Model: Vegas 25.2
State: Missouri
THOR #4687
You would need to run it on propane (or leave it on auto). The norcold in the axis/vegas is 110 or propane. So, unless you are on shore power or running the generator, it is propane
Old 09-16-2016, 01:00 AM   #3

Model: Vegas 25.2
State: Missouri
THOR #4687
By the way, how do you like your axis?
Old 09-16-2016, 01:04 AM   #4

Model: Axis 24.1
State: Georgia
THOR #1123
Quote:
Originally Posted by nancyregg View Post
Yes, you will need to run it on propane to keep the fridge cold. If you place it in the "auto" mode, it will switch from electric to propane when disconnected from shore power or generator and vice versa when reconnected to shore power or generator. Just don't forget to turn it to "off" when you're back home so it won't continue to use your propane.

You will find that the fridge uses very little propane to keep it cold.
Old 09-16-2016, 01:19 AM   #5

Model: vegas 24.1
State: Florida
THOR #1466