RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
 

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Motorcoach & Motorhome > Class A Motor Coach
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-02-2017, 08:09 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2014 Hurricane 34E
State: Alabama
Posts: 228
THOR #6181
Downsides of camping 30amp vs 50amp

Folks, I have 50 amp service on my motorhome. I am going to a campground in FL that only has a 30 amp site available.
Aside from probably only running 1 AC unit, what other downsides could there be? Given the weather this time of year one AC unit should be plenty anyway. Plus I rather have windows open if possible anyway. Thx, Dennis.
__________________

__________________
Budman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2017, 08:31 PM   #2
gmc
Senior Member
 
gmc's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 32A
State: Florida
Posts: 1,871
THOR #2829
On the Hurricane this time of year you should have no issue with 30A... As you said you would only be able to run one AC. I haven't needed to run both AC's since arriving here at end of September.

One thing I looked for in current RV was ability to 'survive' on 30amp... Some other units (other brands) are configured where no AC is available (it requires 220..) Hurricane should have no problem.
__________________

__________________
Greg
Not yet retired...
Florida (Michigan transplant)
2014 Hurricane 32A
2000 Infinity (previous)
gmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2017, 09:57 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Georgia
Posts: 29
THOR #3737
You may a little problem with several electrical appliances running at one time i.e. Coffee maker, hair dryer, toaster, electric heater, etc.
__________________
Hurricane8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2017, 12:02 AM   #4
gmc
Senior Member
 
gmc's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 32A
State: Florida
Posts: 1,871
THOR #2829
Well... possible - but you would have to be running 3 approx 1000W devices on different branch circuits before you trip a 30A main...
Much more likely to trip out the individual 15 and 20 amp breakers by plugging 2 devices into same branch circuit - even if on 50A pedestal.

Should have mentioned though - I would run the water heater on propane - or at least switch it over if you have an issue - as that makes it much more likely to trip out the main with other loads.
__________________
Greg
Not yet retired...
Florida (Michigan transplant)
2014 Hurricane 32A
2000 Infinity (previous)
gmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2017, 12:05 AM   #5
Member
 
Hikes in Rain's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 98
THOR #5584
And I've had that with a 30-amp rig. AC full blast (gets hot in Florida), water heater, and TV and other minor items. DW turns on the old inefficient blow dryer she relegated to the RV and blows the pedestal circuit breaker!
__________________
Hikes in Rain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2017, 12:37 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
SuperD's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2017 Windsport 29M
State: Indiana
Posts: 3,692
THOR #5196
I ran our 40 ft DP on 30 amps many times, just have to be careful what you plug in!
__________________

__________________
USMC Veteran
FMCA 101070S

Dave & Myra
One day your life will flash before your eyes,
make sure it's worth watching!
SuperD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 07:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
×