Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
 

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Motorcoach & Motorhome > Class A Motor Coach
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-22-2021, 01:43 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Thor Axis
State: Mississippi
Posts: 396
THOR #6203
Generator runs but no power

As the title reads the generator in my 25.2 Thor Axis runs but there is no power to the AC or microwave!
Both microwave and AC work perfectly on shore power but when I unplug and start the generator nothing works! Any ideas?
TIA

__________________
sforl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2021, 01:56 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Trophy1200's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Windsport 34F
State: Alberta
Posts: 115
THOR #22490
Have you checked the breakers on the generator?

Try tripping and resetting them without a load switched on and then retry.
__________________
Trophy1200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2021, 02:16 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: California
Posts: 5
THOR #17799
Was going to suggest the same thing……check your breakers
__________________
SangerSam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2021, 02:40 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Thor Axis
State: Mississippi
Posts: 396
THOR #6203
I checked the ones inside the MH and they weren’t tripped! Are there any others I need to check?
__________________
sforl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2021, 02:45 AM   #5
Site Team
 
16ACE27's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 7,528
THOR #7035
Quote:
Originally Posted by sforl View Post
I checked the ones inside the MH and they weren’t tripped! Are there any others I need to check?
There are no Generator breakers inside your MH. The Generator output breaker(s) are on the Generator itself.

You may also have an Automatic Transfer Switch problem.
__________________
Ted & Melinda
2016 ACE 27.1
2016 Chevy Sonic Toad
2020 Chevy Colorado Z71 Trail Runner Alternate Toad
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2021, 03:36 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Trophy1200's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Windsport 34F
State: Alberta
Posts: 115
THOR #22490
There are breakers on the generator itself. If it’s a 50 amp coach you will have two breakers. Remove the generator cover plate and you will see them.

Attached pic from the internet but it shows the position on most generators.

https://www.bing.com/images/search?v...aw&vt=4&sim=11
__________________
Trophy1200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2021, 03:40 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Model: Newmar Bay Star Sport 300
State: Alabama
Posts: 4,196
THOR #6826
But they are not obvious. You’ll need to look on the side for a small black switch. Check the Onan owner’s manual for the exact location
__________________
Pete'sMH is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2021, 02:33 PM   #8
Site Team
 
EA37TS's Avatar
 
Brand: Entegra
Model: Accolade 37TS
State: South Carolina
Posts: 6,436
THOR #1469
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trophy1200 View Post
There are breakers on the generator itself. If it’s a 50 amp coach you will have two breakers. Remove the generator cover plate and you will see them.

Attached pic from the internet but it shows the position on most generators.

https://www.bing.com/images/search?v...aw&vt=4&sim=11
My 50 amp coach on has one breaker on the generator so it depends on the generator.
__________________
EA37TS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2021, 02:41 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Missouri
Posts: 1,822
THOR #6903
Quote:
Originally Posted by EA37TS View Post
My 50 amp coach on has one breaker on the generator so it depends on the generator.
My 240v generators have had a single handle double pole breakers for the 240v output
__________________
lwmcguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2021, 08:26 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Thor Axis
State: Mississippi
Posts: 396
THOR #6203
Just wanted to post an update! The problem was the generator circuit breaker! It had been tripped! After resetting the AC still didn’t work so I checked the breakers inside the MH and the breaker for the AC had tripped! I reset it and everything is working well!
I can’t tell you how thankful I am to have access to this forum and for all the helpful contributors who have come to my “rescue “ time and time again!
Thanks to all!
__________________
sforl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2021, 09:51 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Georgia
Posts: 2,585
THOR #4735
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by lwmcguire View Post
My 240v generators have had a single handle double pole breakers for the 240v output

yes, most 50amp coaches with diesel generators only have a single 'BREAKER' that can be accessed/seen on the front of the generator, although there are actually TWO breakers - they are tripped together whenever one does, just like in the Main Panel of your RV. Resetting one also resets the other.
The reason there are two breakers on the generator for a 50amp coach is because the 'power' for each side is fed back to the RV's breaker panel, which, of course, has TWO Main Breakers.
For some diesel generators that put out 40-50amps, you might have a 30amp and a 20amp breaker on the generator, while other larger generators will have TWO 30amp breakers, and so forth.
__________________
TurnerFam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2021, 10:40 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Trophy1200's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Windsport 34F
State: Alberta
Posts: 115
THOR #22490
Quote:
Originally Posted by sforl View Post
Just wanted to post an update! The problem was the generator circuit breaker! It had been tripped! After resetting the AC still didn’t work so I checked the breakers inside the MH and the breaker for the AC had tripped! I reset it and everything is working well!
I can’t tell you how thankful I am to have access to this forum and for all the helpful contributors who have come to my “rescue “ time and time again!
Thanks to all!
Good to see your problems are solved, and best of all it was free
__________________
Trophy1200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2021, 01:55 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Thor Axis
State: Mississippi
Posts: 396
THOR #6203
���� Free is good!
__________________
sforl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2021, 02:08 AM   #14
I Think We're Lost!
 
Bob Denman's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
State: New York
Posts: 21,744
THOR #8860
Congratulations on getting everything back up and running!
__________________
Bob Denman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2021, 11:31 PM   #15
Junior Member
 
Brand: Still Looking
State: Alabama
Posts: 2
THOR #21100
Glad you got it going. Couple quick thoughts.
Before turning the generator off, remove loads from it.
That will provide a moment or two of cool down and what’s more important, it will avoid a brown out type condition in the back end. That can be hard on voltage regulators and windings.
Considering air conditioners, make sure to not short cycle the unit.
Doing so will cause the generator to try starting the air conditioner while the internal head pressure is still high.
Allowing several minutes at least before letting the air conditioner to start up again insures easiest start effort.
Hope this helps and was worth while
God bless
__________________
LoveJehova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2021, 12:24 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Thor Axis
State: Mississippi
Posts: 396
THOR #6203
Thanks! Good to know!
__________________
sforl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2021, 10:02 PM   #17
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: New York
Posts: 7
THOR #20877
Generator has no power.

Hi I have a Thor class A motorhome with a 5kw generator checked all breakers and fuses and all is well, now the interesting thing here is the generator was running and when I pushed the switch inside to shut it down nothing happened so I went outside and flipped both breakers on the generator itself and........it still was running!!! Since then I have not been able to use it. It runs great but is not putting out enough power anymore. So did it bite the dust or????
__________________
Papa2675 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2021, 10:16 PM   #18
Site Team
 
16ACE27's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 7,528
THOR #7035
Quote:
Originally Posted by Papa2675 View Post
Hi I have a Thor class A motorhome with a 5kw generator checked all breakers and fuses and all is well, now the interesting thing here is the generator was running and when I pushed the switch inside to shut it down nothing happened so I went outside and flipped both breakers on the generator itself and........it still was running!!! Since then I have not been able to use it. It runs great but is not putting out enough power anymore. So did it bite the dust or????
The generator will not shut down by tripping its output breakers. You can shut it down with the start switch on the generator itself.

So other than the remote switch not shutting the generator off, what is the problem with your generator?
__________________
Ted & Melinda
2016 ACE 27.1
2016 Chevy Sonic Toad
2020 Chevy Colorado Z71 Trail Runner Alternate Toad
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2021, 11:17 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Trophy1200's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Windsport 34F
State: Alberta
Posts: 115
THOR #22490
Did you push or push and hold the stop switch?

As stated, the breakers are for the generator output, not the engine.

Press and hold the stop switch at the generator and see if it stops.

Why have you not been able to use it if it’s “running great”?

How is it not giving enough power?

Then let us know what your actual problem is from there.
__________________
Kev

2015 Thor Windsport 34F = empty pockets
No toad YET
REME veteran
Trophy1200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2021, 09:00 PM   #20
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Windsport 34F
State: Louisiana
Posts: 37
THOR #6600
Ran into a similar issue a few days ago. Generator runs OK, no error codes. No power to the transfer switch. Reset breakers and still nothing. So I traced the wires from gen set to the transfer switch and found the small problem: (see pics). I’ll post an update once I’ve rewired it. The line from the junction box to the transfer switch is extremely heat damaged so I’m replacing the whole line.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2527.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	66.3 KB
ID:	34348   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2524.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	200.0 KB
ID:	34349  

__________________
southladon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 11:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2