Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Motorcoach & Motorhome > Class A Motor Coach
Click Here to Login

Old 01-18-2021, 07:21 PM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Windsport 27 B
State: California
THOR #18443
RV handling

I am new to Motorhome living, have trailered in the past. I own a 2019 Thor 27' Windsport with a Ford F-53 chassis and I live in So. Calif with bad road conditions. I'm finding the coach a little hard to handle , i've been told a safe t steering stabilizer, new shocks, and a rear stablizer bar might help
Any suggestions ?

Old 01-18-2021, 07:33 PM   #2

Model: Axis 24.1
State: Connecticut
THOR #20289
Do a front end alignment before doing anything else. Shoot for 5+ degrees positive caster.

That should significantly improve return to center handling which is what the springs in a Safe T Plus or a Roadmaster do.

David
Old 01-18-2021, 07:39 PM   #3

Model: 2018 24.1 AXISSIXxSIX
State: Arizona
THOR #13932
Yes, do the alignment.
The other things are kind of placebo or half steps.

Some of us like sumo and other mods, some don't, some know they're just bumpstops or stiffeners, some swear by them as miracles.

Baby steps after reading many many posts and deciding what the poster said, and what they didn't.

Click on my pictures then click the pop-up for a full screen zoomable picture.
ducksface is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2021, 07:45 PM   #4
Axis/Vegas Enthusiast

Model: Axis 24.4
State: Michigan
THOR #1150
Don't do many things at once. Do one mod, drive it for a bit and see how you like it then do another.

In addition: For F-53 chassis look up CHF (cheap handling fix).
JamieGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2021, 07:53 PM   #5

Model: 2018 24.1 AXISSIXxSIX
THOR #13932
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamieGeek View Post