Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Motorcoach & Motorhome > Class A Motor Coach
Click Here to Login

Old 10-07-2023, 11:29 AM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Palazzo 33.6
State: Oregon
THOR #26218
Manually shift gears

Sorry, dumb question, but Im new to motorhomes. How do you manually shift gears in a 2023 Thor Palazzo 33.6. I will go out later today to practice.

I will be driving down the grapevine in CA in a few days, using the diesel exhaust brake, but want to downshift one gear before descending.

Old 10-07-2023, 12:19 PM   #2
Site Team

Brand: Entegra
Model: Accolade 37TS
State: South Dakota
THOR #1469
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy C View Post
Sorry, dumb question, but Im new to motorhomes. How do you manually shift gears in a 2023 Thor Palazzo 33.6. I will go out later today to practice.

I will be driving down the grapevine in CA in a few days, using the diesel exhaust brake, but want to downshift one gear before descending.
It depends on which shifter you have for the Allison transmission .

In my coach while in drive press the down arrow until the desired gear is in the display.

The owners manual is a good read to explore the controls on the shifter.
Old 10-07-2023, 09:07 PM   #3

Model: 2023 Jayco Precept 31UL
State: Florida
THOR #1589
Much of what's in RV manuals is generic and some can be irrelevant. Like he said, read then drive, not the other way around.
Old 10-17-2023, 10:25 PM   #4

Model: Aria 3401
State: Washington
THOR #22245
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy C View Post

we have 2021 Aria: ours we push the right control down to downshift. In my experience with ours I don't downshift but engage the exhaust brake just prior to the Grapevine downgrade and let Allison figure it out with periodic application of the brakes.
Retired US Navy Corpsman HMC(SW)(FMF)
HMCSW is offline   Reply With Quote