Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Motorcoach & Motorhome > Class A Motor Coach
Click Here to Login

Old 06-05-2020, 05:18 AM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Outlaw 37RB
State: Washington
THOR #7789
Mice, now voltage problems

Have a 2017 Outlaw 37RB with some power issues, hoping someone has suggestions since I am a bit of a newbie. We had a rodent problem over the winter. I had to clear out a mouse nest in one of the outside compartments, and they got inside the cabin too. I did mitigation to clean it up and sealed up several easy entry points with foam (I hadn't realized quite how terrible a job the factory does at this, it was pretty pathetic).

The RV is running 4 x 6V house batteries and a resi fridge that runs off the inverter. Now it has problems keeping the battery voltage up even overnight. When plugged in to shore power, everything works fine, shows 13.8V at the inverter and panel. Same thing when running on the genset. After unplugging, it starts around 12.8V. That seems a bit low. By morning the house battery voltage is fluctuating and dropping below 11V. I assume the fluctuation comes with the sporadic draw of the fridge/freezer running. The inverter starts making a low voltage alarm beep.

I replaced the chassis and all 4 house batteries a couple of months ago. I charged them overnight with an 10A external charger. So I'm assuming the batteries are good, though I only checked with a voltage meter. I tried toggling the store switch and it seems to work correctly. Same with the emergency start switch.

One thing -- running the chassis motor does *not* raise the house voltage. I thought that it should charge the system, but now I can't recall for sure, I never had this issue last year.