Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Brands and Products > Thor Motor Coach | Class A, Class B+ & Class C Motorhomes
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-24-2017, 06:22 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 30.4
State: Missouri
Posts: 16
THOR #7949
Playmaker DISH SAT RECEIVER AND 2018 ACE 30.4

Does anybody know If you can use the outside cable hook up on the coach to use your player maker Dish receiver ? I have run thru all the steps and it does the check switch fine and when it goes to acquiring signal it never loads. I do have some trees that might be in my path but usually u get a message saying blocked view. Not even hearing the motor turning in the dish looking for a signal. Most rv's I have seen have a cable and a sat plug on the outside. ..not on this unit.
__________________

__________________
Barrett3252 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2017, 06:50 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Freedom Elite 29fe
State: Florida
Posts: 585
THOR #4656
That cable runs through a splitter inside the rv. It won't work. You need a direct connection to the dish from the receiver.
__________________

__________________
nosticks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2017, 07:17 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 30.4
State: Missouri
Posts: 16
THOR #7949
Think I am going to sell the wally and playmaker and go with the wind guard in motion. No way to come inside the coach with even a flat cable thru the window.
__________________
Barrett3252 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2017, 07:25 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Freedom Elite 29fe
State: Florida
Posts: 585
THOR #4656
And that's going to solve your problem how.
__________________
nosticks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2017, 07:45 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 30.4
State: Missouri
Posts: 16
THOR #7949
If you go with an in motion system won't they install the necessary cables to make it work?
__________________
Barrett3252 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2017, 08:11 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Hittntherooad's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 30.1
State: North Carolina
Posts: 324
THOR #3952
You can modify the splitter inside the tv cabinet to work. Very simple. I had the same problem with mine. I ran a temporary cable from outside through the door and my Tailgater worked. Search the Internet and found the mod. Just requires a jumper wire. I will try to find the article.
Here it is
http://www.tv4rv.com/wiring.pdf
__________________
Ace 30.1
Hittntherooad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2017, 10:39 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 30.4
State: Missouri
Posts: 16
THOR #7949
Thanks
__________________
Barrett3252 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2017, 10:46 PM   #8
mrw
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: A.C.E. 29.3
State: West Virginia
Posts: 87
THOR #4502
Use a jumper wire at connection. One USB is for interior TV the othef USB is for outside TV. Easy done
__________________
mrw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2017, 07:10 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 24.1
State: New York
Posts: 12
THOR #5905
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hittntherooad View Post
You can modify the splitter inside the tv cabinet to work. Very simple. I had the same problem with mine. I ran a temporary cable from outside through the door and my Tailgater worked. Search the Internet and found the mod. Just requires a jumper wire. I will try to find the article.
Here it is
http://www.tv4rv.com/wiring.pdf
I guess I'm a little slow but I'm confused as to how this mod is going to work with a satellite input or the normal cable tv input. I assume that I would have 3 outputs in place of the one bedroom output. I have a 2017 THOR axis with 3 TV's. If I understand correctly the mod allows me to either use a satellite input to all TV's or feed them from the normal cable input on the exterior of the coach. I just don't understand how.
__________________
billburt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2017, 12:02 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 31S
State: Virginia
Posts: 113
THOR #4468
Quote:
Originally Posted by billburt View Post
I guess I'm a little slow but I'm confused as to how this mod is going to work with a satellite input or the normal cable tv input. I assume that I would have 3 outputs in place of the one bedroom output. I have a 2017 THOR axis with 3 TV's. If I understand correctly the mod allows me to either use a satellite input to all TV's or feed them from the normal cable input on the exterior of the coach. I just don't understand how.
Uncertain here also but if the mod works I'm guessing that each TV would also need a Dish or DirecTv control/decoder box?
__________________
2018 Hurricane 31S
mpinva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2017, 12:33 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Hittntherooad's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 30.1
State: North Carolina
Posts: 324
THOR #3952
If you want to watch different channels on each tv, you will need a dish box for each one. My tailgater will only accommodate 2 boxes. I have mine set up so we can watch satellite from all 3 TVs and the remote works from anywhere inside and outside. I have a dual hdmi splitter for the main tv and outside with a wireless set up for the bedroom. Works great.
__________________

__________________
Ace 30.1
Hittntherooad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 09:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
×