Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Brands and Products > Thor Motor Coach | Class A, Class B+ & Class C Motorhomes
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2018, 10:22 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2017 Gemini 23TR
State: British Columbia
Posts: 182
THOR #5922
Receptacle not working with Generator running...

Just noticing this today on day 3 of no hookups, I had to hunt for a receptacle with power. The 3rd pair I tried worked. So my question is "should all receptacles work when running the generator?" I know they all work on shore power. I am out of my warranty period.
__________________

__________________
nmcmilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2018, 10:44 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
TurnerFam's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Palazzo 33.3 34'bunkhouse
State: Alabama
Posts: 2,174
THOR #4735
no, they probably won't. The factories usually have only several set up for powered usage while on the generator, or on the inverter(if you have one). The generator may not have the same output as your 30a or 50a Shore Power cord connection, so limiting the number of outlets is akin to saying that the generator is not designed for numerous connections.

usually a residential fridge is the first concern, then a TV outlet, and maybe one other for general purpose usage.
__________________

__________________
TurnerFam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2018, 10:57 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2017 Gemini 23TR
State: British Columbia
Posts: 182
THOR #5922
Thanks!
__________________
nmcmilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2018, 11:14 PM   #4
Site Team
 
16ACE27's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 4,152
THOR #7035
Quote:
Originally Posted by TurnerFam View Post
no, they probably won't. The factories usually have only several set up for powered usage while on the generator, or on the inverter(if you have one). The generator may not have the same output as your 30a or 50a Shore Power cord connection, so limiting the number of outlets is akin to saying that the generator is not designed for numerous connections.

usually a residential fridge is the first concern, then a TV outlet, and maybe one other for general purpose usage.
I completely disagree. Everything that has 120 VAC power when on shore power has 120 VAC power when supplied by the generator because the transfer switch is in front of the power distribution panel.

It is much more likely that a GFCI has tripped if the receptacle has had power before.
__________________
Ted & Melinda
2016 ACE 27.1
2016 Chevy Sonic Toad
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2018, 12:52 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Travelin' Texans's Avatar
 
Brand: Redwood
State: Texas
Posts: 1,028
THOR #3610
Would have to totally agree on the GFCI! From my experiences with rvs & the folks that build them, that system of not powering outlets on generator is WAY to complicated for them to design/build. I do agree that you may not be able to use all outlets on the generator, but you most likely couldn't on shore either.
__________________
Danny & Linda
Sold our '13 Thor Redwood 36 FB
Currently RV & truckless
Replacement undetermined
Travelin' Texans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2018, 12:45 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 28z
State: North Carolina
Posts: 243
THOR #7401
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tfryman View Post
I completely disagree. Everything that has 120 VAC power when on shore power has 120 VAC power when supplied by the generator because the transfer switch is in front of the power distribution panel.

It is much more likely that a GFCI has tripped if the receptacle has had power before.
Yep, agree
__________________
Gary A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2018, 01:35 PM   #7
I Think We're Lost!
 
Bob Denman's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
State: New York
Posts: 13,436
THOR #8860
I'm pretty sure that you're limited to about one outlet; if you're running on battery power.
But if your generator is running, and you don't have the ability to power everything: you've got to look for what has changed.
I agree with the above posts...
Good luck!
__________________
Good Sam Member 843599689
FMCA Member F473304
Current coach: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
"Nobody helps him. Now he has his revenge"
Bob Denman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2018, 01:48 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
bevedfelker's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2015 Vegas 24.1
State: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,332
THOR #2601
On my Vegas all the 110 receptacles work when on Generator. The generator provides power to the automatic transfer relay. The transfer relay applies shore power or generator power (whichever is operating) to the AC distribution buss in the converter.
__________________
Ed & Bev Felker
Retired USAF Col and retired Nurse
Traveling with Lily & Bella ('Teddy Bear' breed)
2015 Vegas 24.1 (E-350)
bevedfelker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2018, 07:01 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2017 Gemini 23TR
State: British Columbia
Posts: 182
THOR #5922
back on shore power...

So as many suspected it was that my GFCI had tripped. Found the same receptacles not working once I plugged in, so next time I run the generator I'll check but I will expect them to work! It was great to get the comments, thanks Nancy
__________________
nmcmilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2018, 07:03 PM   #10
I Think We're Lost!
 
Bob Denman's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
State: New York
Posts: 13,436
THOR #8860
Glad to hear that it was a quick and easy fix!
Thanks for letting us know what caused it...
__________________
Good Sam Member 843599689
FMCA Member F473304
Current coach: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
"Nobody helps him. Now he has his revenge"
Bob Denman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2018, 07:07 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2017 Gemini 23TR
State: British Columbia
Posts: 182
THOR #5922
I think I caused it as I had disconnected wires to the house batteries (to conserve while stored) then reconnected and immediately went off grid for 4days. Note to self: reset GFCI on reconnect
__________________
nmcmilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2018, 07:14 PM   #12
I Think We're Lost!
 
Bob Denman's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
State: New York
Posts: 13,436
THOR #8860
When I bought my rig; I had NO idea that I'd need to amass the skills of a:
Carpenter
Plumber
Electrician
Roofer
Auto Mechanic
Plus an Accountant, so that I can afford to pay for all of it!
__________________
Good Sam Member 843599689
FMCA Member F473304
Current coach: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
"Nobody helps him. Now he has his revenge"
Bob Denman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2018, 08:14 PM   #13
Site Team
 
16ACE27's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 4,152
THOR #7035
Quote:
Originally Posted by nmcmilla View Post
I think I caused it as I had disconnected wires to the house batteries (to conserve while stored) then reconnected and immediately went off grid for 4days. Note to self: reset GFCI on reconnect
I don't see how doing anything on the DC buss would cause a GFCI to trip; but, stranger things have happened.
__________________

__________________
Ted & Melinda
2016 ACE 27.1
2016 Chevy Sonic Toad
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 02:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
×