Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Motorcoach & Motorhome > Class A Motor Coach
Click Here to Login

Old 04-07-2016, 01:55 PM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2017 Vegas 24.1
State: Wisconsin
THOR #3973
Question Replacing Axis/Vegas House Batteries

I am looking at upgrading the house batteries to something with higher amp-hours.

Has anyone found any 6VDC batteries that fit in the existing battery storage area of the Axis/Vegas?

Thanks in advance.

Old 04-08-2016, 12:26 AM   #2

Model: Axis 24.2
State: Idaho
THOR #1944
The only batteries I've found with more usable capacity that might fit in my existing battery compartment are of the Lithium chemistries. Here's a site that peeks my curious side: 12V RV Batteries | Deep Cycle Lithium Ion Batteries | Smart Battery

I've been messing with various Lithium battery types for many years and really like the usable capacities but I've had mixed results for longevity. I've actually had the best results with the more volatile chemistries.
Old 04-08-2016, 01:21 AM   #3

Brand: Still Looking
Model: 2016 Newmar
State: Indiana
THOR #1075
I am not near my Axis 24.1. What is the size of the house and starting batteries.

What about charging systems for the Lithium Ion batteries?
Old 04-08-2016, 04:09 AM   #4

Model: Axis 24.2
State: Idaho
THOR #1944
My chassis battery is BCI-65 Motorcraft. The house batteries have nothing but a barcode. Size is like group 27 at a bit over 12" long and 6.75" wide by about 9.25" to top of post (a bit taller for water fill system). On paper they should be about 90AH new (40 usable). The box opening is 7"wide x 22" long and about 10" deep.

The LiFePO4 SB100 looks to be an equivalent size, double the usable capacity and charging range similar to lead acid (except for float). Seemingly a drop in replacement via BMS!
Old 04-08-2016, 12:56 PM   #5

Model: Travato
State: Florida