Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Motorcoach & Motorhome > Class C and Super C Motorhomes
Click Here to Login

Old 08-31-2020, 02:39 AM   #1
JSE

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Arizona
THOR #20322
Residential Fridge & Propane

Hi there. I'm a total newbie so would appreciate any help. I just bought a 2016 Quantum PD31 Class C and it has a Whirlpool 'residential' refrigerator. There doesn't seem to be an option for propane and from what I can gather, that's standard for a residential fridge...?? Is that true? We plan to boondock quite a bit so I'm a little concerned about draining my batteries... still trying to figure out the inverter and power situation...

Old 08-31-2020, 03:11 AM   #2

Model: XG 32 Omni
State: Missouri
THOR #4243
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSE View Post
Hi there. I'm a total newbie so would appreciate any help. I just bought a 2016 Quantum PD31 Class C and it has a Whirlpool 'residential' refrigerator. There doesn't seem to be an option for propane and from what I can gather, that's standard for a residential fridge...?? Is that true? We plan to boondock quite a bit so I'm a little concerned about draining my batteries... still trying to figure out the inverter and power situation...
A residential refrigerator will not run off propane, electricity only. The wife and myself Boondock a lot and the fridge will depending on temperature outside will work off of the the batteries for several hours.
We have a Yamaha 2000 Inverter generator that we use to keep batteries charged or watch a movie and run the fridge, much cheaper than running the on board generator, it will run 10-12 hours on a gallon of gas.
Old 08-31-2020, 03:16 AM   #3

Model: '17-Vegas 24.1
State: California
THOR #13362
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSE View Post
You are correct. No propane or alternative fuel for your fridge while boon-docking.
Your options...