Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Modifications and Updates
Click Here to Login

Old 07-26-2018, 10:18 PM   #3341

Brand: Still Looking
Model: Renegade Valencia 38RB
State: California
THOR #3156
Quote:
Originally Posted by HatrackRV View Post
Just took our first trip in our new THOR ACE while flat towing a Ford C-Max Energi. Went great!!! Drove from central Indiana to Raymond New Hampshire. So I have some questions for you experienced drivers of a motor home on a Ford F53 chassis. 1. I had the Tow/Haul button depressed and when slowing down the motor home, it would shift into a very low gear and really wind out the engine. Is this normal?? 2. Going up hills with cruise control on, the engine would sometimes shift into lower gears, as it should, and really wind up to 4000+ rpms as it attempts to maintain speed. Its really screaming. Can this engine run in a sustained fashion like this up a hill? I would disengage the cruise control and just take the hill more slowly. Do you all do the same thing? 3. Generally the ride was pretty good but some highways in America are in rough shape and the ride can be pretty difficult. I have Sumo Springs and a Safety Plus installed. I would just push through the rough ride. Is this everybody’s experience as well? Thx for the advice.
Tow use tow haul mode all the time except on the freeway when I'm using cruise control. Having the tranny down shift will save your breaks

When climbing I turn off cruise. I can get a better feel of the incline with my foot.

From everything I've read the Ford motor was made to rev high so no worries about that

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sport
FMCA # F464385
halfprice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2018, 10:48 PM   #3342

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Indiana
THOR #11100