Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Modifications and Updates
Click Here to Login

Old 07-06-2019, 11:30 PM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Gemini 23TR
State: Arizona
THOR #14425
Send a message via Skype™ to JimSpy
Question In The Market for a Backup Camera

Forgive me, I'm a complete rookie at this, but...I can't stand the backup camera system in my Gemini. It's barely useable in daylight, and a total mess in twilight or dark. So, I'm in the market for something better. I'm looking at RearViewSafety.com and it probably has what I want...but I'm not sure what I want! The main thing is a real good look at the rear, but if it has bells and whistles like a record function, forward- or side-facing cameras, what the heck. Looking at the back of my rig, the camera appears to be built into the body. Does that mean a wired system? And will I have to remove that wiring in order to install the new camera? Do I want to stay with the rearview mirror monitor, or get something dash-mounted? Questions, questions, so many questions... Feel free to steer me towards a good thread on this forum. I do learn quickly!

Thor Gemini 23TR
RVing since 2018
JimSpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 03:11 AM   #2

State: Colorado
THOR #12345
I just ordered one of these, it is wireless:

<https://www.amazon.com/Emmako-Wireless-Waterproof-Distortion-Reversing/dp/B078PDH6Z8/ref=asc_df_B078PDH6Z8/?tag=hyprod-20&linkCode=df0&hvadid=312141906131&hvpos=1o2&hvne tw=g&hvrand=4898110874332675971&hvpone=&hvptwo=&hv qmt=&hvdev=m&hvdvcmdl=&hvlocint=&hvlocphy=9051600& hvtargid=pla-569448162379&psc=1&tag=&ref=&adgrpid=60234797217&h vpone=&hvptwo=&hvadid=312141906131&hvpos=1o2&hvnet w=g&hvrand=4898110874332675971&hvqmt=&hvdev=m&hvdv cmdl=&hvlocint=&hvlocphy=9051600&hvtargid=pla-569448162379>