Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Modifications and Updates
Click Here to Login

Old 10-28-2020, 01:31 AM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 29M
State: Arkansas
THOR #20830
Mod I am considering to help balance heat in 29m

My 2020 29m has 4 heater vents. The strongest 2 point directly into the bedroom and blow what I would estimate to be 2/3 of the output into that area.

The other 2 vents longer runs with twists and turns. One exits under the kitchen cabinets and the other between the theater seats. These vents put out very little air compared to the two blowtorches venting straight into the tiny bedroom.

I had considered just blocking off one of the bedroom vents, but I’m worried that might put too much strain on the system (perhaps this is unfounded - I’m new to this) but I really don’t have any desire to burn down my RV

So after pulling the grate off in the pic below, the only thing behind it is the duct work for the 4 vents.

See my notes on the pic attached. Could I not just take me of the bedroom vents and reroute it out the grate hiding the ductwork? This would pull half the air out of the bedroom, and aim it into the main coach and at the bathroom.

Any safety issue with this I could be missing, aside from the normal hazards of the job?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	B9F68B25-AF25-4D98-9CE8-5EBEEAE17B07.jpg
Views:	223
Size:	84.1 KB
ID:	26910  

Old 10-28-2020, 01:39 AM   #2
I Think We're Lost!

Brand: Still Looking
Model: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
State: New York
THOR #8860
Your plan sure seems sound.
Take lots of pictures of the project for us.
Good luck!
Old 10-28-2020, 02:18 AM   #3

Model: Forest River Forester 235
State: Indiana
THOR #6826