Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Modifications and Updates
Click Here to Login

Old 12-03-2017, 11:05 PM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Alabama
THOR #10196
Thor 34j House Batteries

I’m new to RV and have a thornhurricane 34j. When not connected the house batteries will lose power within 5 or 6 hours. I can’t make it throughout the night and have to turn inverter off. I think the res fridge is a big strain. Dealer said there is no room for additional batteries but there has to be another solution,. Thoughts?

Old 12-03-2017, 11:38 PM   #2
Axis/Vegas Enthusiast

Model: Axis 24.4
State: Michigan
THOR #1150
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mwild View Post
I’m new to RV and have a thornhurricane 34j. When not connected the house batteries will lose power within 5 or 6 hours. I can’t make it throughout the night and have to turn inverter off. I think the res fridge is a big strain. Dealer said there is no room for additional batteries but there has to be another solution,. Thoughts?
Is this the stock battery(ies)? It is possible that the batteries are bad. Many have had units delivered with bad batteries.
JamieGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 11:38 PM   #3

Model: Challenger 37LX
State: Arizona
THOR #7863
I’ve read a lot on this topic in this and other forums. I decided to replace the two 6 volt generic batteries that Thor equipped our ‘17 Challenger 37LX with. I bought four 6 volt Crown golf cart batteries. I understand you’re saying you can’t fit four, but maybe two higher capacity batteries would help you.

I also bought a Renogy 200 watt portable Solar Suitcase, which helps keep us charged during daylight, and ensure I run the gennie before going to bed, to have the batteries full as possible.

With that setup, I get through the night fine, with about 2/3rds showing on the display when I wake up.