Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Modifications and Updates
Click Here to Login

Old 05-13-2020, 07:21 PM   #1

Brand: Still Looking
Model: Tiffin Allegro Breeze
State: Massachusetts
THOR #18816
Newbie question: quality of workmanship?

I'm new to RVing, having rented a few times and now getting ready to make a purchase. This will be a 2016+/- Siesta, most likely, but I've read a number of articles and reviews that suggest the overall build and parts quality of these isn't that great. As I'll be buying used, there won't be any warranty service, so I'll pretty much be on my own post-purchase. I'm reasonably handy and don't mind getting my fingernails dirty, but I want to understand what I'm getting myself into. So a few questions:

What are the most common shortcomings of these units? Are there any repairs or parts updates I'd want to do preemptively, to avoid problems on the road?

Are problems generally the sort of that can be reasonably dealt with? As an example, a broken electrical switch can be easily replaced, but a sagging floor, not so much.

Assuming the unit is in decent shape when I purchase it, what's a reasonable amount to budget per year for maintenance? Like I said, I don't mind doing the simple stuff myself.

Part of what attracts me to the Siesta is the bulletproof Mercedes Diesel, but if the rest of the unit is plagued with issues, that motor's not going to be doing much for me.

Thoughts?

Old 05-13-2020, 07:36 PM   #2
Axis/Vegas Enthusiast

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 24.4
State: Michigan
THOR #1150
Yeah typically the chassis are rock solid as they are built by an OEM.