Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Modifications and Updates
Click Here to Login

Old 10-28-2022, 09:14 PM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2017 ACE 27.2
State: California
THOR #22668
Switching out Axxera AVM70

I have a Thor ACE 27.2 2017

I am going to switch out my Axerra Radio and use it as a paper weight or for target practice. I am still researching the Pioneer, Jensen and Sony options. Suggestions welcome. It has rear and side cameras and I want Apple Car Play.

My question is, how hard it is to install myself? I am handy, but far from a mechanic. I was a firefighter and learned a lot working on fire engines, but again, not a technician. It looks like some of it is plug and play and that other than fitting the new radio system into the slot, it is red wire to red wire kind of stuff. For those of you who have already done this am I right? I would love to save a little on installation since we are also looking at getting some new tires soon.

RC

Old 10-28-2022, 09:20 PM   #2
Site Team

Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
THOR #7035
Mechanical installation should be plug-n-play.

Electrical installation; not so much.

You will need to be able to read wiring diagrams/schematics and splice wires. The old plug and new plug will likely be different as well as wire colors.
2020 Chevy Colorado Z71 Trail Runner Toad
2024 Chevrolet Trax 2RS - Soon 2B TOAD
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2022, 09:28 PM   #3

Model: 2017 ACE 27.2
THOR #22668
Quote:
Originally Posted by 16ACE27 View Post
Mechanical installation should be plug-n-play.

Electrical installation; not so much.

You will need to be able to read wiring diagrams/schematics and splice wires. The old plug and new plug will likely be different as well as wire colors.