Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Modifications and Updates
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-28-2017, 09:21 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Freedom Elite 22FE
State: South Dakota
Posts: 1
THOR #8718
Thermostat on Freedom Elite 22fe

I'm wondering if anyone has changed the thermostat on the furnace in a Freedom Elite 22fe. The day I took ownership of it we couldn't test the furnace because it was warmer than 70 degrees outside. Now it's 40 at night and the furnace doesn't work. Any advice would be appreciated!! I'm wondering if a digital thermostat is possible.

Do you use your furnace? Some people commented on a FB group that they don't use their furnace. They use an electric heater or Mr. Buddy.
__________________

__________________
Lu and Crew
2018 Freedom Elite 22FE
prairielu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2017, 11:45 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Newmar Bay Star Sport 300
State: Alabama
Posts: 2,038
THOR #6826
Sure, there is a digital Coleman replacement that costs about $50. It's a straight wire for wire (all color coded the same) replacement. Took me about 15 minutes and it works great. I did it on my Freedom Elite and consider it an excellent upgrade.
__________________

__________________
Pete'sMH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2017, 12:18 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
JRS950's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: VanLeigh Vilano 365RL
State: Florida
Posts: 257
THOR #1907
I did the same on my 28Z. The digital thermostat works great. Took all of 15 minutes max.
__________________
Jim & Marianne Four Winds 28Z gone
2018 Ram Dually, Cummins/Aisin w/3.73
2018 VanLeigh Vilano 365RL on the road
JRS950 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2017, 12:55 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Hooligan2's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2016 Siesta Sprinter 24ST
State: Florida
Posts: 353
THOR #2812
Most units use the same thermostat for heat and cooling. If thermostat works with the AC it's probably good. My furnace was intermittent, would not do anything at times or worked fine, found the plug to the furnace was not fully clicked together. (plug is next to the furnace).
Here is troubleshooting for furnaces. RV Tech Library - Propane Furnaces
__________________
U.S. Coast Guard retired- 1956-1985
Pensacola, Florida
Lily- the Pug
1972 Moto Guzzi Eldorado
Hooligan2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2017, 10:05 AM   #5
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: thor 22FE
State: Georgia
Posts: 80
THOR #3371
i have a 22fe. it is a 2 wire thermostat. i purchased this and it works well.

https://www.amazon.com/LuxPro-Digita...ire+thermostat

does not cycle as often. i also use an electric heater. why use your propane when you can use campgrounds electric.

patrick
__________________
pjciii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2017, 01:01 PM   #6
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Chateau 28F
State: Colorado
Posts: 70
THOR #2768
I also replaced my thermostat with a Coleman digital and love it. As stated before' it's a 15 minute job. If your furnace is not working their is a reset button on to of the circuit board that is behind the outside door to the heater. Once you remove the door it is easy to spot. I would check that before replacing the thermostat.
__________________
Ronmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2017, 04:44 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
bruno1950's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: A.C.E. 30.2
State: Ohio
Posts: 103
THOR #8054
Just finished the replacement to digital in my ACE 30.2 and as advertised it was a 15 minute job. Wire for wire hookup. Wish all mods were that easy. Thanks to the veterans here for the info.
__________________
bruno1950 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2018, 04:48 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Freedom Elite 24HE
State: Minnesota
Posts: 8
THOR #11527
Where did you find your digital thermostats? Do you have a link to the one you got?

Thanks!
__________________
Snarltoof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2018, 02:42 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Vegas 24.1
State: Florida
Posts: 535
THOR #5313
Mine is Coleman-Mack digital off Amazon. Works great and holds tighter band than slider type. Heat part was go from ice cubes to inferno. A/C part not much different.
__________________
Muggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2018, 02:57 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Yvonnemarc's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 30.2
State: Massachusetts
Posts: 306
THOR #8180
I just swapped my analog T-stat for the Coleman Mach digital. Took 5 min. Great upgrade thanks!!
__________________

__________________
USN - RETIRED NUKE
Taunton, MA
Yvonnemarc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 10:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
×