RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
 

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Modifications and Updates
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-16-2019, 09:02 PM   #21
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Windsport 35c
State: Texas
Posts: 16
THOR #16922
How do you have wifi in your rv?
__________________

__________________
Chuckysbak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2019, 10:28 PM   #22
Site Team
 
16ACE27's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 5,422
THOR #7035
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuckysbak View Post
How do you have wifi in your rv?
How do you have WiFi in your house? Same way. You have a wireless router from Best Buy or Wally World, or a mobile hotspot, or you turn on the hotspot on your phone.
__________________

__________________
Ted & Melinda
2016 ACE 27.1
2016 Chevy Sonic Toad
2020 Chevy Colorado Z71 Trail Runner Alternate Toad
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2019, 11:57 PM   #23
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Palazzo 36.1
State: Texas
Posts: 57
THOR #3182
You can get a portable Travel router as well https://smile.amazon.com/TP-Link-Wir...3947308&sr=8-4 This way, if you have several devices or a device like a Chromecast that only works through a router you'll always have this guy broadcasting your wifi signal.
This device may seem complicated to figure out at first, you'll still need a source of Internet... either your phone's 4g or Park Wifi. Once you use it a couple of times and get the hang of how handy it is it'll be second nature.
It runs on USB power and you can connect as many devices as you want to it, where it really shines is if you happen to stay someplace that makes you pay for Internet per device..... (hotel) you log this one device in and share that connection with as many devices as you want.
__________________
howzball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2019, 12:40 AM   #24
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 29.3
State: Vermont
Posts: 8
THOR #15779
We use campground wi-fi when it's available. Haven't decided yet how to get our own. At home we use a signal booster in the house to kick it up so we can get a good signal outside.
__________________
KMerrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2019, 03:46 PM   #25
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Idaho
Posts: 76
THOR #7541
We use a Verizon Jetpack for WiFi when we travel. RV or Hotel. During travel months we have unlimited data on our Verizon phone account.
__________________
Blindcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2019, 12:50 PM   #26
JMF
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Siesta SJ
State: North Carolina
Posts: 49
THOR #16303
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny C. View Post
We have a 2019 Thore 34j and it has multiple axxera tvs and we would like to upgrade to smart tvs. All the tvs with the exception of the two in the bunks all seem to have a box attached to the back of the tvs that all the wires run to. My question is dose that box come and just bolt to the new smart tv or is that part of the tv?

My
Assuming you have a similar hookup with a shared Blu-ray or DVD...Upgrade your Blu-ray or DVD player to one with Wi-fi and smart hub. This will allow you to hook it up to all of your TV’s. I swapped the one in my 2019 Siesta and it worked. I had one in my home hooked to a smart TV since those features were redundant. Another solution would be to add an add-on box like others suggested and add a HDMI switch before the splitter. BTW if you Blu-ray player is in a cabinet like mine, add a cheap IR repeater so you can use your remote. I don’t know why Thor didn’t do either of these very cheap upgrades.
__________________
JMF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2019, 06:36 PM   #27
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Windsport 35c
State: Texas
Posts: 16
THOR #16922
Thanks
__________________
Chuckysbak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2019, 08:47 PM   #28
Member
 
LowOnCash's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
State: Georgia
Posts: 41
THOR #17465
Check out Apple TV it just locks to your phones HotSpot you can use the Apple TV with any TV with an HDMI port - Good Luck



Mike
__________________
LowOnCash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2019, 08:58 PM   #29
Senior Member
 
WearyTraveler's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Thor Outlaw 38RE
State: West Virginia
Posts: 256
THOR #17154
Quote:
Originally Posted by 16ACE27 View Post
While Rokus are great if you do want to upgrade the TV get Roku TVs:

You can always upgrade the Roku apps
You will have a real channel guide for your OTA TV no matter where you are at (if the Roku TV is connected to the Internet).

Vizio TVs look like they have a channel guide in their literature, but that is just for their streaming service, not OTA channels.
How do you get a channel guide thru roku for the OTA channels?
__________________
Charlie and Jamie
2017 Thor Outlaw 38RE
Maysville, West (by God) Virginia
Good Sam member
FMCA member
WearyTraveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2020, 03:46 PM   #30
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: New York
Posts: 64
THOR #12610
I'm shopping for tvs also, my visos wont pick up anything. I understand the fire sticks ect., but I also want to be able to use ant. in some locations. I don't know if a smart tv could use ant. signals. Does the ant. in my MH work if I install a smart tv ?
__________________
oleflier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2020, 03:52 PM   #31
Site Team
 
EA37TS's Avatar
 
Brand: Entegra
Model: Accolade 37TS
State: Virginia
Posts: 4,845
THOR #1469
Quote:
Originally Posted by oleflier View Post
I'm shopping for tvs also, my visos wont pick up anything. I understand the fire sticks ect., but I also want to be able to use ant. in some locations. I don't know if a smart tv could use ant. signals. Does the ant. in my MH work if I install a smart tv ?
Yes, the antenna will work with a smart TV.

Instead of swapping out televisions I replaced my DVD with a smart DVD. This was I can watch streaming on any TV through the matrix switch. Swapping out a TV would not allow watching the streaming programs on the other TVs.

Using a fire stick would allow the same as swapping out the DVD.

Swapping a TV doesn't always provide the most bang for the buck. In my case swapping the DVD for a wireless smart DVD cost under 100.00 and I can now watch Netflix or Amazon Prime on all three non-smart TVs.
__________________
Dave
US Army (Ret)
2020 Entegra Accolade 37TS
2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee Trailhawk (Toad)
FMCA - F432054
EA37TS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2020, 03:53 PM   #32
Axis/Vegas Enthusiast
 
JamieGeek's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 24.1
State: Michigan
Posts: 9,193
THOR #1150
Quote:
Originally Posted by oleflier View Post
I'm shopping for tvs also, my visos wont pick up anything. I understand the fire sticks ect., but I also want to be able to use ant. in some locations. I don't know if a smart tv could use ant. signals. Does the ant. in my MH work if I install a smart tv ?
Yes, antenna is still used. You just set the TV to Antenna.
__________________
2014 Thor Axis 24.1
2018 Chevy Bolt
blog - https://spareelectrons.wordpress.com/
JamieGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2020, 04:33 PM   #33
Senior Member
 
Travelin' Texans's Avatar
 
Brand: Redwood
State: Texas
Posts: 1,284
THOR #3610
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamieGeek View Post
Yes, antenna is still used. You just set the TV to Antenna.
It can be a bit more involved than that depending on your coach.
If your coach has the new KeyTV system that may be all there is to it, I've never had that system.
If it has the old system, you may have to raise the antenna depending on type, then you'll need to find the antenna booster (they are very good at hiding them), it's a wall plate with a cable outlet, sometimes with a cigarette lighter type plug, with a very small button to activate the booster, there's a very small led light next to that button that if lit the booster is on, then you'll need to go to the tv menu to "set up", switch to "antenna" & scan channels. The booster must be on for antenna off if hooked to cable or satellite & each time you relocate or change input you'll need to scan the channels.
__________________
Danny & Linda
Sold our '13 Thor Redwood 36 FB
Currently RV & truckless
Replacement undetermined
Travelin' Texans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2020, 02:21 AM   #34
MCG
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Utah
Posts: 17
THOR #17782
Roku and Axxera Tv

I've added Roku to all my tv's on my rig. The only problems is having to use two remotes. So the main television I replaced with a TCL television. Planning to replace the others as I find places for the other Axxera televisions. Roku drop down list for tv's to sync with doesn't include Axxera. Bummer.
__________________
MCG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2020, 04:19 PM   #35
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Palazzo 36.1
State: Texas
Posts: 57
THOR #3182
Quote:
Originally Posted by MCG View Post
I've added Roku to all my tv's on my rig. The only problems is having to use two remotes. So the main television I replaced with a TCL television. Planning to replace the others as I find places for the other Axxera televisions. Roku drop down list for tv's to sync with doesn't include Axxera. Bummer.
I've heard people say to try it as an LG or Vizio.
Ours had the ContinUS brand TV and the RCA codes worked.

You'll always wonder how much extra it might have cost to had just included a normal brand name TV in these things.
__________________
howzball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2020, 05:03 PM   #36
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 31S
State: Texas
Posts: 2,356
THOR #6411
Quote:
Originally Posted by howzball View Post
I've heard people say to try it as an LG or Vizio.
Ours had the ContinUS brand TV and the RCA codes worked.

You'll always wonder how much extra it might have cost to had just included a normal brand name TV in these things.
I asked the salesman giving the plant tour in 2016. He said the contract with MITO for Axxera HD 32" TVs specified !2,000 TVs delivered at 2,000 per month from March 2015 through August with the possibility of 6,000 more if necessary for $495,000 for the first 12,000 TVs. That was $300,000 less than any other manufacture would deliver the 32" Tvs
__________________
Jim & Roy Davis
2016 Hurricane 31S
1961 Rampside in tow
Beau388 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2020, 05:26 PM   #37
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Palazzo 36.1
State: Texas
Posts: 57
THOR #3182
$40 a TV, I guess that explains that.


I'd be interested to know how much they're actually paying for the furniture they put in these things, if that's more than $40 they're getting ripped off.
__________________
howzball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2020, 06:29 PM   #38
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Missouri
Posts: 1,082
THOR #6903
I have been following this along with interest

We have Samsung Smart TV's in the homes and shop. The Tuscany came with 4 Sanyo LED smart TV's. They still do all that they were suppose do and we use the apps on them for Prime, YouTube and and so on.

Use Direct TV and Fiber Optic for various locations

No issues at all with anything so again find this very interesting and still lurking
__________________
lwmcguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2020, 07:09 PM   #39
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 31S
State: Texas
Posts: 2,356
THOR #6411
Quote:
Originally Posted by howzball View Post
$40 a TV, I guess that explains that.


I'd be interested to know how much they're actually paying for the furniture they put in these things, if that's more than $40 they're getting ripped off.
LCI furnishes most of the furniture for the cheaper coaches; Villa International for the more expensive. The retail prices in interior furniture prices are available. Wholesale is 30 to 35% off. <https://store.lci1.com/shop-by-department/furniture-mattresses/rv-furniture/theater-seating.html>

Ford chassis are $24,000 to $69, 000 when modified by MorRyde. House walls, floor and ceiling materials are 35% of the cost, labor 45%, wiring 8%, and the remaining 12% is appliances and furnishings. Add 40% for dealer profit and you get the list price . For my 31 foot Hurricane (my cost new ($86,500) would estimate cost $39,000 for the chassis so that leaves $10,400 for 3 TV, 2 A/Cs, stove, water heater, fridge, flooring, power captain chairs, outside kitchen, cabinets, bed surround wardrobe, etc. If you go by plant 750, they will show you the average coach cost break-down. At least they did it for us as we were the only two in the tour.
__________________
Jim & Roy Davis
2016 Hurricane 31S
1961 Rampside in tow
Beau388 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2020, 02:30 AM   #40
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Washington
Posts: 12
THOR #19263
Quote:
Originally Posted by howzball View Post
$40 a TV, I guess that explains that.





I'd be interested to know how much they're actually paying for the furniture they put in these things, if that's more than $40 they're getting ripped off.


Garbage TVs
__________________

__________________
Mrtbone49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 06:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
×