Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Community Forums > Thor RV Lifestyle
Click Here to Login

Old 04-20-2016, 04:03 AM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: California
THOR #4086
Work online while rving?

I am a teacher and plan on teaching online during the summer and full time after I retire in a couple years. Anyone who is full time RVing who uses high speed internet and skype on a regular basis?

I haven't even begun to look into the technology and know there are lots of articles out there. I would like to talk to some real people that actually use the technology.

I already have teaching jobs lined up but it all depends on the technology. I'm planning to be mostly in the gulf coast area (Texas, Mississippi, Louisiana, Florida).

Appreciate all the input and hospitality at this forum.

Old 04-20-2016, 11:39 AM   #2
Axis/Vegas Enthusiast

Model: Axis 24.4
State: Michigan
THOR #1150
There have been quite a few discussions on this topic here. Just a few:
Telework mods for RVing
Connecting to WiFi
Phone Booster
2016 Vegas infotainment center

There probably are a few more I missed.
JamieGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2016, 04:31 PM   #3

Model: Tiffin Open Road 32SA
State: Colorado
THOR #1147
We're not full-timers, but my wife often works from the road - literally.

We use Verizon for cell and data services. In most parts of the country we've visited their service has been sufficient although she hasn't tried full-motion video. She uses Magic-Jack as her business-voice provider. With a laptop, cell phone, and wireless hot spot she works while I'm driving down the road.

I run the generator when she needs a boost to her laptop battery, but I plan to add an inverter in the not too distant future that will eliminate that requirement.