Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-15-2020, 03:20 PM   #1

Brand: DRV
Model: Full House JX450
State: Arkansas
THOR #17747
Water Softener

We moved to a park with very hard water. Shower doors are hard to clean, getting deposits on & around our faucets etc. I have zero experience with water softeners but am looking for a portable softener that is efficient and as easy to use as possible. Is it advisable to hard mount it somewhere or better to just have it on the ground under the trailer? I have read much debate online about salt-less softeners and am not yet convinced that these small filter looking devices actually remove any measurable amount of hardness.

Old 05-15-2020, 03:53 PM   #2

Model: 39TKSB3 "Modified"
State: South Dakota
THOR #1661
You will not believe how this product will clean glass and other solid surfaces! Besides glass test small area. BEWARE there are many imposters!!!

Old 05-15-2020, 04:07 PM   #3

Brand: Redwood
Model: 36FB
State: Arizona
THOR #3610
Used the FloPur 10000 water softener for 6+ years with great results.
I mounted it in a milk crate with water hose quick disconnects added a cartridge type filter with a sediment filter before the softener then through the onboard filter with a charcoal filter (both changed a couple times per year) resulting in great tasting water, crystal clear ice cubes & zero water spots on the shower doors everywhere we connected to a water faucet.
The filter used 2lbs of regular table salt (the round containers are 26oz so it was close enough) about every 30-45 days of full-time use that took about 30 minutes to add salt & purge the softener.
I would highly recommend this setup, especially if hard water is an issue.
Replacement undetermined
Travelin' Texans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2020, 05:14 PM   #4

Brand: Still Looking
Model: SOB
THOR #3916