Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Community Forums > Introduce Yourself | Say Hello
Click Here to Login

Old 09-25-2022, 11:01 PM   #1
MJJ

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Alabama
THOR #28071
Question on batteries

I am new to motor home ownership and female. I thought I was pretty rad with my knowledge of my little travel trailer but a motor home is a whole new ball of wax. I have a 2009 Four Winds Siesta with low miles that I purchased. So far I have had to have it aligned, awning repaired, brakes, shore power cord replaced, new chassis battery, oil change, new front right tire and the satellite dish rewired. I boondock a lot and am planning a big trip out west. Recently I was boondocking and the coach battery went dead. I was able to close the slide and stairs by starting the engine and then the generator and run it a while to re charge the battery. I am thinking I need a new coach battery but I will need to run the heat at night for about 7 hours without using the generator so is there a battery compatible with my motor home that would give me that power without killing the battery? There is only one coach battery under the hood. The chassis battery is under the drivers side floor which I just replaced. Also, when I store this RV, do I need two battery tenders for each battery?

Old 09-25-2022, 11:53 PM   #2

Model: Axis 24.1
State: Connecticut
THOR #20289
Running the propane furnace 7 hours each night is a significant battery draw. Even if cycling 50% most furnaces draw 6-8 amp while running, so 7 hours is about 0.5*7*7 = 25 amp hours. Other loads (except for a DC fridge while will add a bunch) will about double that to 50 amp hours each day.