Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Community Forums > Introduce Yourself | Say Hello
Click Here to Login

Old 08-14-2018, 12:21 AM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Virginia
THOR #12725
Brand Spanking New

My hubby and I have decided to jump in with both feet and are on the verge of closing the deal on a 2019 Thor Hurricane 35M. We are so excited about the prospect of being on the road but we are total newbies and I am sure we are going to have a huge learning curve....part of the adventure right?
Happy to be part of this group. Welcome any suggestions/ tips etc.

Old 08-14-2018, 12:27 AM   #2
Axis/Vegas Enthusiast

Model: Axis 24.4
State: Michigan
THOR #1150
Congratulations and welcome.

First things first: Find a good predelivery inspection (PDI) checklist and follow it when picking up the new unit; don't sign any papers or hand over a check until after the PDI is complete.

During the PDI make sure every last little thing is exercised: water (both city and internal), generator, slides, stereo's, oven, stove, etc.

Once you've taken it home have an alignment done. Find a local truck/commercial tire place to perform the procedure (you can try Ford dealer's but ones that can handle RVs are few and far between). You may be able to negotiate that the dealer pay for this..maybe.

If you find things during the PDI that require parts to be ordered do not leave the coach at the dealer while parts are being ordered--insist on bringing it home and returning it when parts are available. This will prevent the dealer from holding your coach hostage.

After all that the main thing is: have fun with the new rig
JamieGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2018, 01:19 AM   #3

Model: 2017 Windsport 29M
State: Indiana
THOR #5196
Congratulations on your new coach and welcome to the forum!!!