Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Community Forums > Introduce Yourself | Say Hello
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 03-31-2020, 02:35 AM   #1

State: Alaska
THOR #18464
Looking for advice

I'm totally new to the idea of an RV. Don't have a rig yet but looking at the Magnitude XG32 versus the Dynamax Isata 5 28SS. I really like the Thor but the Dynamax seems to also have just about everything we need. Want to use it to travel to visit my daughter in Florida from the Northeast and do some weekend trips here.

Any advice on quality, build, etc.? All I hear is horror stories about how everything is broken like the week after you pick the rig up.

I really want 4WD being in the Northeast.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Old 03-31-2020, 05:31 AM   #2

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Vegas 24.1
State: North Carolina
THOR #11380
Everyone who has ever tried or owned a RV has their fair share of horror stories and fairy tales to pass along.

I would wander over to the Google site and type in Alaska RV Rentals to get a look at what is available in your area. Then I'd rent one for the weekend to see how it fits your style. Of course, the sticker shock of renting a RV in Alaska will get you right off the bat as a 3-day weekend will cost you around $750.00 or more. And, one of the Rental Dealers can answer your questions about 4-wheel RVs available in AK and other RV topics.

If the current virus is not too serious in Alaska you might cruise down to a nearby campground once the tourist season is in full swing and talk to some of the folks camped out there. You'll find them, for the most part, friendly and willing to share some of their knowledge and experience.