RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
 

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Community Forums > Introduce Yourself | Say Hello
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-11-2019, 06:36 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: A.C.E. 30.3
State: Tennessee
Posts: 1
THOR #16327
New ACE - New Power Line

I'm awaiting delivery of my very first RV, a Thor ACE 30.3. I can't wait. Before she arrives, i want to run an underground power line ~85 foot, and while I will have an electrician terminate both ends, I planned to have the wire already run in conduit.

Question? Does anyone know what gauge/conductor wire I should use? I do plan on running 'most' services while she is connected... including 2 ACs.
__________________

__________________
StellaTheRV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2019, 08:48 PM   #2
Thor Palazzo 33.3 diesel
 
TurnerFam's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Palazzo 33.3 34'bunkhouse
State: Georgia
Posts: 2,459
THOR #4735
your electrician will certainly know what gauge ...

if your coach is a 30amp type, then it will be 12/2 or greater, more than likely, with a single Hot, a Neutral, and a ground.(3 prong plug/outlet) and a single 30amp breaker.

if your coach is a 50amp type, then it will be 240v wiring, and probably much larger, which is also TWO hot lines, Neutral, and Ground. (4 prong plug/outlet) and a 240v Double-Pole 50amp Breaker set.
__________________

__________________
the Turners
'14 Palazzo 33.3 bunkhouse 34' diesel
KingTailgater2 Dish HD, 100w/5a SOLAR, BlueOx
110,000+mi since '14 - US, Alaska, Canada (also, '14 Gulfstream Amerilite and '07 ForestRiver Rockwood) : )b
TurnerFam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2019, 09:51 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 22E
State: New York
Posts: 222
THOR #12119
Quote:
Originally Posted by StellaTheRV View Post
I'm awaiting delivery of my very first RV, a Thor ACE 30.3. I can't wait. Before she arrives, i want to run an underground power line ~85 foot, and while I will have an electrician terminate both ends, I planned to have the wire already run in conduit.

Question? Does anyone know what gauge/conductor wire I should use? I do plan on running 'most' services while she is connected... including 2 ACs.
I would go with the 50 amp, do it right once.
The 50 amp is good for all Rv's; the 30 amp is only good for 30 amp RV's
__________________
bry899 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2019, 12:52 AM   #4
gmc
Senior Member
 
gmc's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 32A
State: Florida
Posts: 1,871
THOR #2829
Quote:
Originally Posted by StellaTheRV View Post
I'm awaiting delivery of my very first RV, a Thor ACE 30.3. I can't wait. Before she arrives, i want to run an underground power line ~85 foot, and while I will have an electrician terminate both ends, I planned to have the wire already run in conduit.



Question? Does anyone know what gauge/conductor wire I should use? I do plan on running 'most' services while she is connected... including 2 ACs.

Since running 2 ACs is mentioned, I think we can assume 50A service is desired...
Depending on wire type, 8ga is possible, 6ga definitely ok (both assuming copper).
Since you will have an electrician doing the connections, should verify with them what they expect to see.

Is the new service going to an outbuilding that already has electric service? Or to a pedestal in the yard?
There are other considerations if adding to an outbuilding that already has some electric service.
__________________
Greg
Not yet retired...
Florida (Michigan transplant)
2014 Hurricane 32A
2000 Infinity (previous)
gmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2019, 01:34 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: '17-Vegas 24.1
State: California
Posts: 1,253
THOR #13362
I'm running 8g, 125' for a 30amp subpanel.
It's a 30' covered steel building
If I run 50amp I'll need to enlarge the building & buy a new 35-40' coach.
That's above my pay-grade
__________________
'17 Vegas 24.1
Fallbrook, CA
taylorbob1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2019, 02:57 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Brand: Keystone
Model: Sprinter
State: Florida
Posts: 1,319
THOR #15553
Quote:
Originally Posted by TurnerFam View Post
your electrician will certainly know what gauge ...

if your coach is a 30amp type, then it will be 12/2 or greater, more than likely, with a single Hot, a Neutral, and a ground.(3 prong plug/outlet) and a single 30amp breaker.
30 amp service requires a min of 10/2 per the NEC.
With the distance involved I'm gonna guess a min of #8 copper. Use a voltage drop calculator. 50 amp would require #6.
__________________

__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter 323BHS. Retired Master Electrician. All Motor Homes are RV's. All RV's are not Motor Homes.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 03:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
×