Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Community Forums > Introduce Yourself | Say Hello
Click Here to Login

Old 08-15-2020, 01:43 PM   #1

State: Arizona
THOR #10107
Issues with generator

Hello, I'm new at this and would like some help solving a problem with my RV. I'm plugged in to shore power, but can't start my generator without turning my engine. I don't know if this is the way that it is suppose to happen? Can someone give me some feedback, thanks.

Old 08-15-2020, 01:49 PM   #2

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Miramar 37.1
State: California
THOR #12698
You need to check your house batteries. Sounds like they are dead since you can only start the generator while the engine is running. The engine alternator supplies power to the house batteries while it is running to help keep them charged up. Depending on what model mh you have is where those house batteries will be located. On most Class C motor homes they are located under the steps as you walk into the motor home.

Paul
Old 08-15-2020, 03:56 PM   #3

THOR #10107
issues with Generator

Thanks Paul, the house batteries are brand new from Auto Zone. I suspect either the converter or the 30amp outside shore power cable used to obtain power. Is there a way to check cable first.
Old 08-15-2020, 04:47 PM   #4

Model: Miramar 37.1
State: California
THOR #12698
There is also a breaker for the house batteries that might have tripped when you replaced the house batteries. It should be in the same area near the batteries. It will have either a red or yellow flag showing if it tripped cutting off the house batteries. I have no experience in checking the 30 amp shore line. Your generator should fire up without having to have the vehicle engine turned on using the house batteries.

Paul
Old 08-15-2020, 05:33 PM   #5

State: Missouri
THOR #6903
Have you had the charger turned on?