Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Community Forums > Introduce Yourself | Say Hello
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 05-08-2020, 08:25 PM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Connecticut
THOR #18774
New owner about to go cross country

Hi,

I currently live in CT and we are moving to CA in our new Thor 28A next week. My Dad can't fly, so we are going the RV route. I am an RV newbie and have all kinds of questions about rest stops and power, how long the house battery lasts, etc. etc.

Any tips on cross country stops along I-80 would be appreciated - we will be trying to get there pretty quickly in time for our furniture.

Any and all advice welcome!

Siobhan

Old 05-08-2020, 08:34 PM   #2
Axis/Vegas Enthusiast

Model: Axis 24.4
State: Michigan
THOR #1150
The Ohio turnpike (its I-80 for a lot of Ohio) service plazas have RV spots.

If you find yourself in Ohio and need an overnight, just pull in. I think there is a small charge to use them but you can plug-in.

Since the RV spots are just a separate parking lot I would imagine that they are still open...
JamieGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2020, 08:48 PM   #3
I Think We're Lost!

Brand: Still Looking
Model: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
State: New York
THOR #8860
Welcome to the forum!
Set reasonable mileage goals for each day. Take your time, and enjoy what will surely be a trip that you'll want to remember.
If you don't have it: download the "Pilot Flying J" app.
Old 05-08-2020, 09:16 PM   #4

State: Connecticut
THOR #18774
Thanks for the tips. Anyone have any thoughts on the Western States? Seems like I-80 is good up until just past Ohio then parking options with electric drop off significantly. Anyone have any experience out further West, especially with almost everything shut down? Thanks!
Old 05-08-2020, 10:08 PM   #5