Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Community Forums > Introduce Yourself | Say Hello
Click Here to Login

Old 09-07-2019, 06:54 PM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Four Winds
State: Texas
THOR #14721
Refrigerator not working unless propane is on

Hello Everyone,

I bought a new 2019 Thor Four Winds (28z) in the spring and have already put over 6k miles on it this summer. I'm new to the RV world and would appreciate some help / insight regarding the refrigerator. The fridge works great when I have the propane turned on but if I turn off the propane while hooked up to shoreline power it doesn't work.....just the interior light on fridge comes on. I have to keep the propane on regardless to get the fridge to operate properly. I have tried turning the fridge back on/off again along with making sure the button for propane only is in the correct position numerous times while just plugged in but the "check fridge" light comes on unless I have the propane turned on. I'm assuming if you are plugged into shoreline you wouldn't need the propane turned on. Any suggestions / recommendations?

As a side note.....I had an electrician install a 30 Amp shoreline outlet from my house to the RV. Unfortunately the electrician used the incorrect fuse (240 instead of 120) and fried my converter which I replaced. Not sure if this did something to the fridge or not but all electronics, air, lights, etc work fine since I replaced the converter.

Thanks so much for your help!

Jeff O from TX

Old 09-07-2019, 07:11 PM   #2

Brand: Still Looking
Model: S.O.B.
State: Florida
THOR #14543
First - Welcome to the Forum !