Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Community Forums > Introduce Yourself | Say Hello
Click Here to Login

Old 07-17-2018, 10:08 PM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Colorado
THOR #12345
Newbie from Colorado Springs

I am new to the RV world, just purchased a 2017 Thor Chateau 31W. It was in excellent condition and it had 4700 miles!

Right of the bat, the family and I did a big maiden voyage to South Dakota in order to see Mount Rushmore for the second time... over 1000 miles round trip! We stayed at a Passport America campsite for four days.

The coach drove and handled GREAT! And I learned to appreciate how everything worked.

I also learned a lot of dos and don'ts. However, thanks to friends who are experienced RVers, online forums like this one, and YouTube; I avoided any serious errors.

Unfortunately, within 200 miles of beginning our trip the cameras cameras connected to our Axxera radio stopped working.

We were driving through 100 degree heat in Wyoming when the cameras died. The heat that was coming of the engine cover (doghouse) was nearly unbearable at the time.

Took the Chateau to a major camping outlet so they could evaluate it so I could file a claim using the 30 day 1000 mile warranty that came with the coach.

The warranty company would not let me file a claim because the coach had to be at the facility actually doing the repairs BEFORE the 1,000 MILES were over.

I wish they had made this clear before I went and paid the major camping outlet mechanics.

Also, the major camping outlet mechanics told me that I would have to replace the whole radio! They said they checked the video connections and they were all fine.

The major extended warranty I had paid for before the trip would not cover the damage because I was covered by another warranty when the fault occurred!