Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
 

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Community Forums > Introduce Yourself | Say Hello
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-21-2017, 04:59 PM   #1
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Freedom Elite
State: Oklahoma
Posts: 34
THOR #7244
Plugging in house

Question - Motorhome is 30amp. Can I plug into the 110 at my house and use AC without causing damage to air conditioning unit. I've heard "don't do it" and "sure it won't hurt a thing". What's everyone's take on this?
__________________

__________________
Shawbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2017, 05:04 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Miramar 34.2
State: New York
Posts: 385
THOR #3584
I wouldn’t do it as it would be a load on the A/C and could damage it. I think you might even pop a circuit breaker either in the house or motorhome doing this.
__________________

__________________
suenmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2017, 05:08 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
airforceret's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Four Winds 26B
State: Indiana
Posts: 339
THOR #6414
If you are parked close enough to the house and you are connecting to a 20 amp circuit you can usually run the A/C without issue. If you have to run an extension cord then probably not, or if your house circuit is an older 15 amp circuit then probably not.
__________________
Roger, Dawn, and Roxie
airforceret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2017, 05:17 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
schreinertms's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Challenger 37TB
State: Pennsylvania
Posts: 410
THOR #4486
I ran a 20 amp dedicated circuit to my RV garage and run one coach AC without any issue.
__________________
Tom and Lisa
Pennsylvania
2015 Challenger 37TB
2015 Ford Taurus toad
schreinertms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2017, 05:23 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
lazinskm's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Four Winds 28z
State: Florida
Posts: 401
THOR #5725
I have utilized a 12 Guage 25 foot extension cord and have not had a problem, but have not run for multiple days....
__________________
lazinskm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2017, 05:31 PM   #6
Axis/Vegas Enthusiast
 
JamieGeek's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 24.1
State: Michigan
Posts: 9,346
THOR #1150
I plug into a 15 amp circuit in the garage and have no issues running the A/C for short periods of time to cool the coach down.
__________________
2014 Thor Axis 24.1
2021 Mach-E
blog - https://spareelectrons.wordpress.com/
JamieGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2017, 07:28 PM   #7
Site Team
 
16ACE27's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 6,102
THOR #7035
Depending on the outside temperature and the voltage at the coach, your 15,000 BTU AC will draw 14 to 17 amps. The higher the voltage, the less amps drawn. To keep that voltage high you have to have a 12 gauge extension cord if you use one. A 15 amp circuit can handle it normally if you have your refrigerator off. A 20 amp circuit can handle it indefinitely.
__________________
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2017, 07:29 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Synergy TT24
State: West Virginia
Posts: 153
THOR #3433
If you have access to a decent Volt-ohm-meter, and know how to use it then measure the voltage at one of the RV receptacles without any electrical load on the circuit and make a note of that value. The roof A/C has a nominal voltage rating of 115 VAC, (and should operate on a 20 Amp circuit) and typical operating ranges for electrical equipment is +/-10%. If, when you start and run the A/C, and if it drops below 90% of that 115V value (103.5 VAC) then you should go to a receptacle closer to your main circuit breaker panel without using an extension cord of any size. My personal preference is not to let the voltage drop below 109 VAC (approximately 95%) because I never know what is going on with the local utility's system. As a matter of fact we are at a beach house an I have my Synergy connected to a 20 Amp outside receptacle and I have not measured any abnormally low voltages with the A/C running (13.5000 BTU) and the 6 cu. ft. refrigerator too.

Regards,

Ed L
__________________
Ed & Robin Lively
with Nina, Kitt, and Mickey
2016 Thor Synergy TT24 (a.k.a "Ming")
KC8RXQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2017, 09:36 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
SammyC's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Louisiana
Posts: 138
THOR #7882
I installed a 30 amp 120V plug in my garage and plug in the MH and run everything. I suggest the same.
__________________
SammyC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2017, 09:56 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: S.O.B.
State: California
Posts: 1,365
THOR #3483
I had an existing 30 amp source for an old Jacuzzi we had outside the house. The Jacuzzi went away a long time ago but the old box became a 30 amp receptacle strictly for the RV.
__________________
axis earl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2017, 09:56 PM   #11
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 30.1
State: Wisconsin
Posts: 51
THOR #3486
X2 with SammyC.
__________________
dcarlyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2017, 12:11 PM   #12
gmc
Senior Member
 
gmc's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 32A
State: Florida
Posts: 1,871
THOR #2829
As stated - keep the cords large and the distance as short as possible and should be fine on a 20A circuit - and possibly on a 15...

Until I wire new outlets - my 50A rig drops to 30A extension - then adapts right at the plug to a normal household 20A. Runs one AC just fine.
(The 20A outlet is about a foot from the 200A subpanel...)

Will be placing a 30A outlet right by the subpanel (front of garage) for anytime the rig is out in front - or for visitors... and a 50A outlet outside the back of the garage - my now normal RV parking spot - as it may need to run both AC units when functioning as an extended guest house.
__________________
Greg
Not yet retired...
Florida (Michigan transplant)
2014 Hurricane 32A
2000 Infinity (previous)
gmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2017, 12:58 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Miramar 34.2
State: New York
Posts: 385
THOR #3584
That's a good idea GMC, I think I'm going to do that, since I park in the same spot all the time
__________________
suenmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2017, 01:10 PM   #14
Site Team
 
EA37TS's Avatar
 
Brand: Entegra
Model: Accolade 37TS
State: South Carolina
Posts: 5,394
THOR #1469
Bit of advice, from experience, if you install and outlet on the house go with 50 amp and adapt to a 30 amp coach if necessary.

I initially installed 30 amp and then when we went with the Challenger I had to pay all over again to upgrade from 30 amp to 50 amp on the house. The only reusable component was the box itself.

Save yourself a hundred or two by installing up then setting down to the coach.
__________________
Dave
US Army (Ret)
2020 Entegra Accolade 37TS
2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee Trailhawk (Toad)
FMCA - F432054
EA37TS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2017, 02:15 PM   #15
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Freedom Elite
State: Oklahoma
Posts: 34
THOR #7244
Thank you all for your help. I have called an election to install a 30amp at my shop (but think I will upgrade that to 50amp thanks to dstankov's advice). But I think I will be fine plugging in the driveway at the house when needed. Great advice from all. Thanks
__________________
Shawbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2017, 02:23 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Hittntherooad's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 30.1
State: North Carolina
Posts: 336
THOR #3952
Install a surge protector portable or hard wired. It will save you in the long run. You can monitor the voltage and amps and will shut down for surges and other voltage errors. They should be standard equipment on all rvs.
__________________
Ace 30.1
Hittntherooad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2017, 02:57 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
schreinertms's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Challenger 37TB
State: Pennsylvania
Posts: 410
THOR #4486
Surge Protector, highly recommended

Using a surge protector, second that is a big way. A few years ago, I had an automatic transfer switch catch fire cause of a lightening surge. The switch was under our bed in a Jayco class C. Fortunately caught it in time but the smell of burnt plastic took awhile to dispense.
__________________
Tom and Lisa
Pennsylvania
2015 Challenger 37TB
2015 Ford Taurus toad
schreinertms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2017, 11:31 AM   #18
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 24.1
State: Nebraska
Posts: 47
THOR #6107
Question Plugging into house

I love this forum - great information here. We are newbie's with an 2017 Thor Axis 24.1. I am plugged into my house using the larger orange outdoor extension cord.

Recently I noticed the Air Conditioner and fan would not work. The circuit breaker had tripped. After resetting, it did work again. However, I was wondering WHY the trip. I was curious about the extension cord.

I have decided to have an electrician install a 50 amp convertible to a 30 amp for plugging into the house - and I like the surge protector idea too.

One problem is that I would still need a longer extension cord to connect as I can't get the motorhome close enough to our home just using the cord that came with our MH.

Would this be permissible? If so, any suggestions on the type of extension cord I would need?
__________________
RoseyStapler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2017, 11:35 AM   #19
Axis/Vegas Enthusiast
 
JamieGeek's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 24.1
State: Michigan
Posts: 9,346
THOR #1150
Yes its permissible just get the long 30A RV cord (wouldn't really need a 50A one for the Axis since its only 30A).

Shouldn't be using an orange one to plug the RV in anyway--should be using the RV 30A to the socket and then convert to 15A/20A at the socket.
__________________
2014 Thor Axis 24.1
2021 Mach-E
blog - https://spareelectrons.wordpress.com/
JamieGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2017, 11:38 AM   #20
Site Team
 
16ACE27's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 6,102
THOR #7035
15,000 BTU can exceed 18 Amps on a hot day. Add 4 amps for the refrig (if it was on) or a few amps to charge the batteries/DC loads and you have exceeded a 15 Amp breaker rating certainly, maybe even a 20 amp.
__________________

__________________
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 09:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
×