RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
 

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Community Forums > Introduce Yourself | Say Hello
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-03-2020, 12:41 AM   #1
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Indiana
Posts: 43
THOR #10040
xantrex XM 1800

I have a xantrex xm 1800 in my windsport. Today I noticed when i went to turn on the tv there was no power. The tv works when i turn the xantrex on but when it is off there is no AC pass thru. Any suggestion or answers on whats going on and how to fix it?
__________________

__________________
Thor Windsport
Equinox 2013 toad
F473807
jdmaag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2020, 12:47 AM   #2
I Think We're Lost!
 
Bob Denman's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
State: New York
Posts: 16,753
THOR #8860
I guess that I should assume that this is happening when you're on shore power, or running your generator?
Because if you're not hooked up, or running the generator: no AC power is getting out: without the inverter.
__________________

__________________
Good Sam Member 843599689
Current coach: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
"History shows again and again; how Nature points out the folly of Man!"
Bob Denman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2020, 12:53 AM   #3
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Indiana
Posts: 43
THOR #10040
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Denman View Post
I guess that I should assume that this is happening when you're on shore power, or running your generator?
Because if you're not hooked up, or running the generator: no AC power is getting out: without the inverter.
Yes, sorry, when on shore power or generator
__________________
Thor Windsport
Equinox 2013 toad
F473807
jdmaag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2020, 01:47 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 31S
State: Texas
Posts: 2,233
THOR #6411
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmaag View Post
I have a xantrex xm 1800 in my windsport. Today I noticed when i went to turn on the tv there was no power. The tv works when i turn the xantrex on but when it is off there is no AC pass thru. Any suggestion or answers on whats going on and how to fix it?
In the power center there is a 15 amp, 120 volt circuit breaker labeled "inverter.) Turn that circuit breaker off and then back on. If that doesn't work you need volt meter to chase the electrons around and find where there is a break in the wiring.
__________________
Jim & Roy Davis
2016 Hurricane 31S
1961 Rampside in tow
Beau388 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2020, 01:56 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Judge's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2020 Magnitude SV34
State: Florida
Posts: 1,374
THOR #12751
If resetting the breaker for the Inverter AC input does not solve the problem, it is possible the Inverter transfer switch has failed. If so, you would need to replace the Inverter.
__________________
Judge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2020, 02:20 AM   #6
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Indiana
Posts: 43
THOR #10040
Quote:
Originally Posted by Judge View Post
If resetting the breaker for the Inverter AC input does not solve the problem, it is possible the Inverter transfer switch has failed. If so, you would need to replace the Inverter.
Well I guess thats the problem which i hoped it was not. I did flip the breaker and i do have shore power coming into the inverter. Thanks for your help. One more thing , is there a way to reset the inverter from the panel? Could not find any info on that
__________________
Thor Windsport
Equinox 2013 toad
F473807
jdmaag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2020, 02:29 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Judge's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2020 Magnitude SV34
State: Florida
Posts: 1,374
THOR #12751
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmaag View Post
Well I guess thats the problem which i hoped it was not. I did flip the breaker and i do have shore power coming into the inverter. Thanks for your help. One more thing , is there a way to reset the inverter from the panel? Could not find any info on that

There is not....

Depending on how Thor wired it they could have used the wiring / circuit for the optional built in GFCI outlet. The inverter has its own breaker (a black button) for the optional GFCI outlet. However, if that was the issue you would have not power out of the Inverter when on shore power or when using the batteries.
__________________

__________________
Judge is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 04:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
×