RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
 

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Community Forums > Thor Owners Community Discussions
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-05-2020, 01:38 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 35C
State: Maryland
Posts: 240
THOR #3227
110 house current hookup

I am hooked up to 50 amp service at my home. Going to the sons house for two to three nights.
He only has a 110 receptical at the front of his garage.
Is there a safe adapter so I can use my 50 amp service cord plugged into his 110 receptical?
It will be cold (35 degrees) so I will use propane for hot water and for the furnace. But I need electric for lights and furnace fan.
I can’t run the generator because of HOA police and neighbors
__________________

__________________
Brakeman48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2020, 01:41 PM   #2
I Think We're Lost!
 
Bob Denman's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
State: New York
Posts: 17,863
THOR #8860
Sure: get yourself a 20 to 50 adapter. It'll plug in at his house, and your power cable will plug into it!
__________________

__________________
Bob Denman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2020, 01:48 PM   #3
Thor Palazzo 33.3 diesel
 
TurnerFam's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Palazzo 33.3 34'bunkhouse
State: Georgia
Posts: 2,448
THOR #4735
your lights and furnace fan run off of 12v, you won't need 120v electrical for those...
__________________
the Turners
'14 Palazzo 33.3 bunkhouse 34' diesel
KingTailgater2 Dish HD, 100w/5a SOLAR, BlueOx
110,000+mi since '14 - US, Alaska, Canada (also, '14 Gulfstream Amerilite and '07 ForestRiver Rockwood) : )b
TurnerFam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2020, 01:51 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Popfla's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2019 Freedom Elite 30FE
State: Florida
Posts: 526
THOR #14543
Sure can, with an adapter like this. Of course, you'll only be getting 15 or 20 amps to the RV, but it's better than nothing.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2020-12-05.png
Views:	71
Size:	234.7 KB
ID:	27509  
__________________
Ed
2019 Thor Freedom Elite 30FE w/2020 Jeep Gladiator Toad
Living The Dream in "God's Waiting Room"
Popfla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2020, 02:49 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Newmar Bay Star Sport 300
State: Alabama
Posts: 3,065
THOR #6826
But it might not work. If your 15 or 20A outlet is on a circuit with GFCI protection that safety feature may trip when you plug in. It happens sometimes when there are redundant GFCIs on the same circuit and your coach will have one or more such circuits. If it happens try tripping your coach GFIs with their ďtestĒ buttons. Likely one will be in each bathroom and maybe another outside. Otherwise, youíll be fine.
__________________
Pete'sMH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2020, 03:05 PM   #6
I Think We're Lost!
 
Bob Denman's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
State: New York
Posts: 17,863
THOR #8860
Quote:
Originally Posted by TurnerFam View Post
your lights and furnace fan run off of 12v, you won't need 120v electrical for those...
It'd be handy; if those batteries were kept charged...
__________________
Bob Denman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2020, 03:30 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Brand: DRV
Model: 44' Santa Fe
State: Montana
Posts: 360
THOR #2053
If your battery lasted more than one night without being plugged in I'd be amazed.

Bill
__________________
If you are afraid to speak the truth out of fear of what others may think, it says a lot about who you are and what you will settle for.
Porkchop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2020, 03:50 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Brand: Still Looking
State: Texas
Posts: 4,835
THOR #2121
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brakeman48 View Post
I am hooked up to 50 amp service at my home. Going to the sons house for two to three nights.
He only has a 110 receptical at the front of his garage.
Is there a safe adapter so I can use my 50 amp service cord plugged into his 110 receptical?
It will be cold (35 degrees) so I will use propane for hot water and for the furnace. But I need electric for lights and furnace fan.
I canít run the generator because of HOA police and neighbors
If you have a residential fridge, you may need power for that also. Even so, 15A or 20A should be enough.
__________________
Chance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2020, 04:34 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 31S
State: Texas
Posts: 2,342
THOR #6411
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brakeman48 View Post
I am hooked up to 50 amp service at my home. Going to the sons house for two to three nights.
He only has a 110 receptical at the front of his garage.
Is there a safe adapter so I can use my 50 amp service cord plugged into his 110 receptical?
It will be cold (35 degrees) so I will use propane for hot water and for the furnace. But I need electric for lights and furnace fan.
I canít run the generator because of HOA police and neighbors
Your converter will only draw 5 amps @ 120 volts so all is good to use all the 12 volt stuff. Try to avoid using any heavy draw 120 volt devices like portable electric heater, head strip on A/C or electric on water heater. The brass pins on a 15/20 amp plug will overheat in most adapters when the current draw gets above 12 amps. Do not use any of the round puck adapters if you can avoid it, as the tend to overheat even in low current draws.
__________________
Jim & Roy Davis
2016 Hurricane 31S
1961 Rampside in tow
Beau388 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2020, 06:23 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Missouri
Posts: 1,071
THOR #6903
We wind up with 15/20 amp several times per year. To make it work for us the batteries must be charged as the Magnum will kick out over 100 amps and with the fridge and inverter that can trip a 15 amp. Starting with charged batteries we never have any issues at all and luckily mine don't trip the GFCI either.

During the cooler months all we need it heat and the Aquahot handles that well along with the hot water. We don't use the 120v element in the Aquahot however.
__________________
lwmcguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2020, 08:49 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Brand: DRV
Model: 44' Santa Fe
State: Montana
Posts: 360
THOR #2053
I can tell you that the tripping of the GFCI is very unit specific. I have had 6 different 50a rigs, 4 of them, including my current rig, will trip a 15-20 amp GFCI when plugged in. The other 2 would not. Same manuf. of all 6. I am pretty sure it has to do with plugging a GFCI into another GFCI.

I know you can not wire different GFCI outlets in series but you can in parallel. You can not wire a GFCI outlet into a circuit protected by a GFCI breaker.

I don't get put into this situation enough that it bothers me.

Bill
__________________
If you are afraid to speak the truth out of fear of what others may think, it says a lot about who you are and what you will settle for.
Porkchop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2020, 01:43 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Venetion
State: Nevada
Posts: 12
THOR #19899
I don't have 50A at my house I plug into 15A all the time. Just do not run the AC, it will trip, it keeps the batteries charged and fridge running not problem
__________________
jkfirecap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2020, 01:54 PM   #13
I Think We're Lost!
 
Bob Denman's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
State: New York
Posts: 17,863
THOR #8860
At least the a/c units won't be needed at this time of the year...
__________________
Good Sam Member 843599689
Current coach: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
Bob Denman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2020, 07:41 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 35C
State: Maryland
Posts: 240
THOR #3227
Quote:
Originally Posted by TurnerFam View Post
your lights and furnace fan run off of 12v, you won't need 120v electrical for those...
Thank you I had the understanding the furnace ran off 110volt when MH was plugged into home electric.

Guess I just need to be plugged in to keep batteries charged for two or these days while at sons house.
__________________
Jim K - Avenue, Maryland
2016 Thor Hurricane 35C
2015 Ford F-150 King Ranch
2013 Chrysler 300 "S", 1936 Chrysler C-8
2012 Jeep Liberty Limited Edition
Brakeman48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2020, 08:01 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Siesta 24SS
State: California
Posts: 1,000
THOR #12698
The "dog bone" adapter works great while plugged into a home outlet.


Paul
__________________
paulwadley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2020, 10:44 PM   #16
KKV
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Texas
Posts: 47
THOR #20141
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brakeman48 View Post
I am hooked up to 50 amp service at my home. Going to the sons house for two to three nights.
He only has a 110 receptical at the front of his garage.
Is there a safe adapter so I can use my 50 amp service cord plugged into his 110 receptical?
It will be cold (35 degrees) so I will use propane for hot water and for the furnace. But I need electric for lights and furnace fan.
I canít run the generator because of HOA police and neighbors
I recently posted the same question. A safe $30 space heater with the thermostat control has been good for us. Propane ainít cheap!
__________________
KKV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2020, 01:28 AM   #17
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Texas
Posts: 25
THOR #10043
Weíve used a 50a to 20a dogbone adapter (like shown above) for several years with no issues. Just be sure the circuit from the house isnít being used for other plug in appliances. Weíre even able to use 1 a/c unit during the summer - just have to shut it off to run the microwave.
__________________
Geronimo73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2020, 04:19 AM   #18
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: California
Posts: 48
THOR #15490
I use this for mine and run it on a Honda generator when dry camping also. 1 gallon of fuel for all day running vs whatever the onboard takes as long as I'm not running the AC the Honda is great.

https://www.amazon.com/Kohree-Adapte...87997473&psc=1
__________________
CampTap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2020, 05:00 AM   #19
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: North Carolina
Posts: 14
THOR #19843
May want to consider changing the house 15 amp receptacle to an 18 amp receptacle. Internal plug configuration is same, One slot looks like a T. terminals in receptacle are heavier and will not heat up as fast.
__________________
exit55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2020, 09:52 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
Brand: Keystone
Model: Sprinter
State: Florida
Posts: 1,282
THOR #15553
Quote:
Originally Posted by exit55 View Post
May want to consider changing the house 15 amp receptacle to an 18 amp receptacle. Internal plug configuration is same, One slot looks like a T. terminals in receptacle are heavier and will not heat up as fast.
no such thing as an 18 amp receptacle. it is a 20 amp receptacle. 15, 20. 30.
__________________

__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter 323BHS. Retired Master Electrician. All Motor Homes are RV's. All RV's are not Motor Homes.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 10:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
×