Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Community Forums > Thor Owners Community Discussions
Click Here to Login

Old 06-29-2020, 02:39 AM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: A.C.E. 30.2
State: Colorado
THOR #19409
2018 ACE 30.2 Electrical

Hi, all. Total beginner with our rig. We purchased summer of 2018 and only used 203 times due to moves and relocation. I'm finally settled and will be loading these forums up with some questions. I'll try to search first but I saw a bunch of posts on electrical and just want to ask again:

1) When on shore power - do the house batteries charge? Do I have to have the main power switch on for it to do so?

2) On shore power, inverter on - fridge works. It's a residential-only unit so I know I have to use the inverter. Question, when on shore power, is it still drawing from the house batteries and, if so, I guess my first question comes into play- are the batteries charging enough to offset the draw?

3) Same questions with genny on?

4) Is there an easy gadget or add-on to help see the charge of the house batteries?

Appreciate the patience as I post these and promise to be a good learner. The walk through when I purchased it wasn't the best.

Thanks!!

Old 06-29-2020, 03:51 PM   #2

Model: 37LS outlaw
State: New Jersey
THOR #5248
1) When on shore power - do the house batteries charge? yesDo I have to have the main power switch on for it to do so?yes

2) On shore power, inverter on - fridge works. It's a residential-only unit so I know I have to use the inverter. Question, when on shore power, is it still drawing from the house batteries yes, if so, I guess my first question comes into play- are the batteries charging enough to offset the draw?yes

3) Same questions with genny on?yes

4) Is there an easy gadget or add-on to help see the charge of the house batteries?