Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Community Forums > Thor Owners Community Discussions
Click Here to Login

Old 12-24-2021, 06:58 PM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Washington
THOR #25618
Begging for immediate winterizing help, newbie here

Hello all,

I do promise to say a proper "Hi, How Are Ya" at a later date... today (Christmas Eve!) this has to simply be a cry for help.

First-time RV owner, picked up our Thor Vegas 25.6 last week. Now an ultra-rare week-long below-freezing snap is expected in Western Washington and I am cramming winterization requirements and not having any luck. My dealer is, of course, closed. I NEED HELP!

As far as I can tell, winterization is a murky alchemy that everyone has a different "system" for. I need to get this right TODAY.

What I have done: emptied fresh water tank and city water tank. Turned off tankless water heater. Connected short hose to city water and put other end in RV antifreeze. Turned on water pump. Opened faucets. Expect to see antifreeze come trough but only hear air getting sucked through, antifreeze level in jug not budging, and I'm scared of running my water pump with no water in tanks.

I do not currently have access to an air compressor.

Will check this thread over the next couple hours. Hope someone out there can save a new RV owner's Christmas

Old 12-24-2021, 07:18 PM   #2

Model: Outlaw 29H Class C
State: California
THOR #7010
I don’t have a Vegas but this video shows where the antifreeze intake hose lives on one.

The city water needs to be under pressure from the water pipe, it’s not where the coolant goes in. There’s a bypass valve near the pump that turns off the water flow from the tank (never put antifreeze in fresh tank) and will pull instead from a bottle/bucket of antifreeze.