Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Community Forums > Thor Owners Community Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 06-26-2021, 10:28 PM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Arizona
THOR #22044
A/C in my Hurricane

Question for you experienced Rvers for me the rookie....I have my A/C set on auto 74 degrees for the A/C to come on....it is 101 outside today and I just returned to my RV from playing ball in a softball tourney....the A/C was on but it is only 87 in here...why isn't it cooler? The A/C's are blowing COOL air, but not COLD air....is something wrong with my A/C?

Old 06-26-2021, 10:45 PM   #2

Model: Hurricane 31S
State: Texas
THOR #6411
Quote:
Originally Posted by inlyzbldcj View Post
Question for you experienced Rvers for me the rookie....I have my AC set on auto 74 degrees for the AC to come on....it is 101 outside today and I just returned to my RV from playing ball in a softball tourney....the AC was on but it is only 87 in here...why isn't it cooler? The AC's are blowing COOL air, but not COLD air....is something wrong with my AC?
Nope - most seen to work that way. The biggest heat gain is through the windshield so Magna shade or Reflextix will help. Roof A/Cs cool the inside air going across the coils by 20 degrees. Your coach has single pane windows, R-5 insulation in the walls and R-18 in the ceiling. The heat load is more than the A/C can handle. Best advice is to staying the shade. Search this Forum for A/C and heat advice.
Beau388 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2021, 10:56 PM   #3
Site Team

Brand: Entegra
Model: Accolade 37TS
State: South Dakota
THOR #1469
Research Delta-t and learn about AC. You can use that term to search the forum for a lengthy discussion.
Old 06-26-2021, 10:58 PM   #4

State: Arizona
THOR #22044
running engine