Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Community Forums > Thor Owners Community Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 04-13-2020, 10:22 PM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Siesta
State: California
THOR #3975
Disinfecting spray - bleach strength, lifespan?

I am fairly new to RVing - we have owned our Thor Siesta 24ft Class C for about 3 years. As part of my dump station gear, I carry a spray bottle of water with 3% bleach. Not sure how I came up with that concentration - probably got it somewhere on the web... Oh - and I probably last dumped and refilled the bottle about a year ago.

Anyway, with all the Corona virus news, I read that the proper disinfecting ratio for bleach to water is 10%, not 3%. And - the life span of this solution is 24 HOURS! So you are supposed to make a new batch EVERY DAY!

So - what do you all do for disinfecting? Have you seen any of the recent write-ups on proper disinfecting? Is the virus much stronger than ordinary American bacteria? I am not going to make a new batch every day - I see Clorox (and probably others) sell some product in a spray bottle that disinfects, and has a 1 year life span - sold out, now, of course...

Looking for answers... Thanks!

Dan

Old 04-13-2020, 10:27 PM   #2
I Think We're Lost!

Brand: Still Looking
Model: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
State: New York
THOR #8860
I just use Lysol that already has
bleach in it
Old 04-13-2020, 10:44 PM   #3

Brand: Keystone
Model: Sprinter
State: Florida
THOR #15553
Quote:
Originally Posted by lspotho View Post