Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Community Forums > Thor Owners Community Discussions
Click Here to Login

Old 07-27-2017, 02:56 AM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: California
THOR #7842
driving downhill

I have a newbe question. I'm new to driving my 2017 Thor Axis. Is it just getting used to? When driving up a grade I'm pretty confident but, driving down a grade about 60 or so it seems that I'm a little panic. Is that just that I need to get used to driving it. I've driven a bobtail and not have that issue. Thanks for the advice.

Old 07-27-2017, 03:11 AM   #2

Model: Axis 24.2
State: Idaho
THOR #1944
I don't have a '17 ... but ... Gear down ... If you set cruise at about -5 the speed you want, it'll do the down shifting for you and keep you nicely at about +5mph the set point. Otherwise you can do it yourself with the tow-haul button and it'll downshift when you touch the brake. Don't be afraid to move that gear shift lever to downshift manually Downhill = down the speed to keep yourself and those around you safe.
Old 07-27-2017, 06:39 AM   #3

Model: S.O.B.
State: California
THOR #3483
Have you tried the Tow/Haul button when going downhill? I really like it for situations that you are describing. Just hit the button and when you want to kick down to a lower gear when going downhill, just tap the brake. Experiment with this and you'll get the hang of it.
Old 07-27-2017, 02:08 PM   #4

Model: ACE 27.1
State: Virginia
THOR #7607
I read about people using the tow/haul switch. Do you have to turn it back off when you level off or will it allow the trans to upshift when appropriate?
Old 07-27-2017, 02:15 PM   #5

Model: Axis 25.2
State: Florida
THOR #4466