Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Community Forums > Thor Owners Community Discussions
Click Here to Login

Old 09-20-2016, 03:56 PM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Miramar 35.2
State: Washington
THOR #5060
Fresh Water Tank - Leave some water in? or empty it?

So, I'm a newbie, so no rolling your eyes back when you read this questions

My wife and I just purchased a 2016 Thor Miramar and have been taking a few short 'shakedown trips' to get a feel for things... so far we love the coach and the lifestyle.

Anyway, our current pattern is 2 weeks out and 3 to 6 weeks back home.

The question I have is, what should I do with the water in the fresh water tank between trips? Should I empty it after each trip? or should I leave some water in it - say a 1/3 full?

I'm concerned about the water stagnating...

Thoughts?

kdanielson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2016, 04:23 PM   #2

State: Georgia
THOR #4735
we've been fulltiming for over two years and have never 'emptied' out water tank, even when parked for months. there is really no 'go bad' time frame for water if it is held in the tank and no 'foreign' objects can get in - as you move in the 'home' you also help keep it from sitting still. Unlike water sitting in a holding pond, exposed to the elements, water in a sealed water tank, not exposed to the sun or outside elements, is perfectly fine for many, many months, if not even longer...
TurnerFam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2016, 04:40 PM   #3

Model: Miramar 33.5
State: Florida
THOR #5240
I agree, also have a Miramar.. I never empty it
Old 09-20-2016, 04:59 PM   #4

State: Oregon
THOR #2271
I empty mine once a year when I sanitize the fresh water system.
Old 09-20-2016, 05:41 PM   #5

Model: Challenger 37TB
State: Pennsylvania
THOR #4486