Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Community Forums > Thor Owners Community Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-17-2021, 03:07 AM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Aria 4000
State: Florida
THOR #24004
Generator Advice

Hi all,

I recently bought a 2022 Thor Aria 4000. We LOVE it so far. I am a musician, and my band uses the Aria for out of town, out of state, shows. We recently made a 4 day run through about 6 states, and spent the entire time boondocking. That said, our generator ran constantly for 4 days. Being kind of new to RVs and to the Onan 8000 generator, my question is...is it okay to run the generator for that length of time, because we did have a few instances where the generator just shut down. It started right back up each time (well, except for when my wife was trying to run the washer, the dryer, all 3 AC units, the main TV, lots of lights, and someone was using the convection oven)...that was a big ol' NO!

So, again, question is: how long can you realistically run your generator, assuming you have enough fuel? Given that it has run for that long, should I have it serviced already?? (I can probably do that myself).

Thanks in advance for any replies.

AOX

Old 08-17-2021, 04:10 AM   #2

Model: A.C.E. 27.2
State: Indiana
THOR #14698
First off get the VIN number and go to the THOR website. Then click on owners resources, use the VIN and register your unit. There is all kinds of information about the systems in your MH including using & servicing the genny. I wouldn't think you require service after 100 hours run time but the owners manual should tell you.
I have never run either my Onan or my previous Generac for the 100 hours continuous run that you did. A 10-12 hour overnight has been about it.