Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Community Forums > Thor Owners Community Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-01-2015, 01:17 AM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 25.1
State: Pennsylvania
THOR #1503
How to Handle a Tire Blowout in Your RV

This was in this week's RVTravel newsletter, RV Travel - News, information & advice for RV enthusiasts

I've never had a blow out but now I am a little better prepared should one occur.

Bruce

Old 11-01-2015, 01:39 AM   #2

Model: Windsport 27K
State: Kentucky
THOR #2817
A very interesting video. I've been driving for over 50 years and never heard of accelerating when having blow-out or rapid loss of air.

I had a blowout on the left front tire on the diesel pusher. Other than a bit of a rumble and some movement of the steering wheel, it wasn't too bad and there was no loss of control. I know I didn't brake hard, but I imagine I applied the brakes as I pulled to the right side of the road.
Old 11-01-2015, 12:32 PM   #3

Model: 2023 Jayco Precept 31UL
State: Florida
THOR #1589
Sometimes applying power can pull a vehicle from sliding on ice, but I can't support this theory on an RV. The side force they talk about is much less than the forward momentum of the coach and the grip of the other front tire.

I blew a front left tire on our 33 foot gasser on a 4 lane once. Like Metalman said, a bit of rumble and shake, no loss of control. Foot off the gas and it slowed with little braking and not much side pull. I had seen this video before that, but this technique was unnecessary. I had zero difficulty holding the lane I was in.

I was trying to get one more trip from that set of tires. Not long after that front blowout, a back inside tire blew, so I replaced the rest. RV tires rarely wear out, they weather out.
Old 11-01-2015, 01:35 PM   #4