Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
 

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Community Forums > Thor Owners Community Discussions
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-11-2021, 04:03 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Arizona
Posts: 109
THOR #22044
How do you hook up to shore power at your home

Hey friends....how does everyone hook up to shore power at home just to cool your fridge/freezer before heading out on a trip? I am just running the generator a couple hours before heading out now and that is doing the trick but don't want to run up the hours on my genny! It only has 412 hrs on it and I know they last a long time up to 10-1500 hrs I am told if you do regular maintenance on it. I have looked into have a 50 plug in set up like at an RV park...our hot tub uses a 50 amp also, but, ouch the expense....up to $1200 clams!!! So, I have a 50 amp cable, a 50 to 30 amp adapter, and a 30-110 adapter....can I go 50-30 adapter to 30-110 adapter and plug into my outlet in my garage or is that a no-no? Don't want to fry anything! Suggestions?

__________________
inlyzbldcj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2021, 04:12 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: XG 32 Omni
State: Missouri
Posts: 465
THOR #4243
You can plug into a regular house outlet since you have the adapters to cool the fridge down but don't try to run anything else. I know the RV 50 amp outlet is expensive to install but so worth it.
__________________
kwplot34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2021, 04:40 PM   #3
I Think We're Lost!
 
Bob Denman's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
State: New York
Posts: 21,210
THOR #8860
That's what we do: plug into a 20 amp outlet with an adapter, and let the Fridge do it's thing...
But we do have a 30 amp box in the planning stages...
__________________
"I can reach any Star,
I've got Faith: Faith of the heart."
Good Sam Member 843599689
Current coach: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
Bob Denman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2021, 05:04 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
The Gritz Carlton's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: THOR Chateua 35SF
State: Georgia
Posts: 4,150
THOR #11130
^^^what he said^^^ but installing a 50A at home so I can run A/C's when its 150 outside. We have "cocktails in the camper" often.
__________________
2018 THOR Chateau 35SF
Two Labs, Bugsie & Blondie
The Gritz Carlton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2021, 05:13 PM   #5
I Think We're Lost!
 
Bob Denman's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
State: New York
Posts: 21,210
THOR #8860
Yeah... Just a single A/C unit in our 30 amp rig...
But if the cockta9ls are "strong & often": nobody complains about the heat!
__________________
"I can reach any Star,
I've got Faith: Faith of the heart."
Good Sam Member 843599689
Current coach: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
Bob Denman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2021, 05:37 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Judge's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2020 Magnitude SV34
State: Florida
Posts: 2,264
THOR #12751
I installed a 30A panel myself for my last coach since it was 30A. It cost me less than $100 to do it myself.

Now I use a dogbone since the current coach is 50A but I only run one of the two A/C units (coach is stored indoors) so 30A provides plenty of power.

When I have the coach in the driveway for a length of time, I will just use a 15A dogbone if I need a little AC.




Your other option is to lick three fingers and put two over two of the hots in your breaker box and one over the neutral and then lick three fingers on the other hand and grab the prongs on the shore power cord. If you're worried about a ground, lick a fourth finger
__________________
Judge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2021, 05:39 PM   #7
I Think We're Lost!
 
Bob Denman's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
State: New York
Posts: 21,210
THOR #8860
...

https://www.thorforums.com/forums/at...1&d=1623433138
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	BOOM.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	80.3 KB
ID:	31290  
__________________
"I can reach any Star,
I've got Faith: Faith of the heart."
Good Sam Member 843599689
Current coach: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
Bob Denman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2021, 05:48 PM   #8
Site Team
 
EA37TS's Avatar
 
Brand: Entegra
Model: Accolade 37TS
State: South Carolina
Posts: 6,014
THOR #1469
At the sticks and bricks (going soon) 50amp. At the park model we connect to 15amp for fridge cooling. We are getting 50 amp installed there in a couple weeks.
__________________
EA37TS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2021, 05:58 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Brand: Still Looking
State: Alabama
Posts: 292
THOR #22687
Spend the money and have 30/50 amp service installed.
__________________
standerson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2021, 06:01 PM   #10
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Aria 3901
State: Idaho
Posts: 54
THOR #16876
I got a 50A service installed at my place after years of using a 20A outlet and an extension cord to cool down the fridge and to keep it warm late fall before I leave for the winter.


A 50A service can cost about 400 bucks to install but it is really worth it. The best money I ever invested in my place was that service. It makes a world of difference.


Ron
__________________
Living the dream a day at a time!
-------------------------------------------------------------
2019 Thor Aria 3901 w/Yellow Jeep Wrangler Unlimited
NG7V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2021, 06:57 PM   #11
I Think We're Lost!
 
Bob Denman's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
State: New York
Posts: 21,210
THOR #8860
Quote:
Originally Posted by standerson View Post
Spend the money and have 30/50 amp service installed.
Please enlighten me. if I have a 30 amp rig: why do I need a 50 amp outlet?
I'm actually planning on a 20/30 amp box...
__________________
"I can reach any Star,
I've got Faith: Faith of the heart."
Good Sam Member 843599689
Current coach: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
Bob Denman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2021, 06:58 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
ducksface's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2018 24.1 AXISSIXxSIX
State: Arizona
Posts: 3,328
THOR #13932
Quote:
Originally Posted by standerson View Post
Spend the money and have 30/50 amp service installed.
Why?

My last rv ran off of a 50ft 12 gauge extension cord just fine...ac and all.

The pic is of my 24.1 plugged into the nearest outlet. My shop has most 110 and 220v type outlets, 15a110, to 50a220. No need for any except the common 15a110v for an RV. If I needed different, it's just a matter of dragging the rv cord to different. I don't need different to keep the fridge running.

(The dirt in the pic? Its the back corner of my big shop. Needs hosed down)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	0611211156~01.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	35.4 KB
ID:	31292  
__________________
ducksface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2021, 07:05 PM   #13
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Aria 3901
State: Idaho
Posts: 54
THOR #16876
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Denman View Post
Please enlighten me. if I have a 30 amp rig: why do I need a 50 amp outlet?
I'm actually planning on a 20/30 amp box...
I was unaware that your RV was a 30A rig. If it is and that is what you want to do, get an electrician to come and install a 30A service for your RV. If you ever get a bigger rig, then, at that time, get them to come back and upgrade your service to 50A or, install a 50A service and use a 50 to 30A adapter and never look at it again.

It is all a question of personal choices. I installed what I thought I needed but you know, a good extension cord always works well. All you need to make sure is that it is properly rated.

"May the force be with you"
__________________
Living the dream a day at a time!
-------------------------------------------------------------
2019 Thor Aria 3901 w/Yellow Jeep Wrangler Unlimited
NG7V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2021, 07:08 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 33.1
State: Nevada
Posts: 161
THOR #21278
Most folks use an adapter to be able to plug in to your residential outlet. In my case, I tried it once. I was able to use my refrigerator. But it gave me some problem with the slide outs. (Gave me some error code after plugging the RV to a 15amp outlet). Since then, I just use my propane to cool down the fridge.

Sometime in the future, I will have a 50amp installed in our driveway.
__________________
2021 Thor ACE 33.1
2015 Forest River Forester 2861DS
2012 Milan Eclipse
ador is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2021, 07:15 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Missouri
Posts: 1,599
THOR #6903
I use the 60amp/240v amp welder/charger plugs in the shop and drive normally. When at our other places or in the driveway then the adapter and if I have to run over the length of the cord on the reel then a 10 gauge short extension as needed.

I can typically run one AC and the fridge on the 20 amp breakers with no issues

Any place you park a lot the correct service is well worth the money.
__________________
lwmcguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2021, 07:19 PM   #16
I Think We're Lost!
 
Bob Denman's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
State: New York
Posts: 21,210
THOR #8860
Quote:
Originally Posted by NG7V View Post
I was unaware that your RV was a 30A rig. If it is and that is what you want to do, get an electrician to come and install a 30A service for your RV. If you ever get a bigger rig, then, at that time, get them to come back and upgrade your service to 50A or, install a 50A service and use a 50 to 30A adapter and never look at it again.

"May the force be with you"
We'll be sticking with this RV: it's the perfect size for just the 2 of us...
(and the dog... )
__________________
"I can reach any Star,
I've got Faith: Faith of the heart."
Good Sam Member 843599689
Current coach: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
Bob Denman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2021, 07:51 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Brand: Still Looking
State: Alabama
Posts: 292
THOR #22687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Denman View Post
Please enlighten me. if I have a 30 amp rig: why do I need a 50 amp outlet?
I'm actually planning on a 20/30 amp box...
Have either 30 or 50 amp installed. When we had it done, we also had new service installed in case we got a bigger rig that was 50 amp. Before that, when we plugged the RV into the house and ran anything besides the AC, it tripped a breaker.

Now we back her into the driveway, run the cord to the box on the side of the garage and plug her in.
__________________
standerson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2021, 08:30 PM   #18
Site Team
 
16ACE27's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 6,699
THOR #7035
Quote:
Originally Posted by inlyzbldcj View Post
Hey friends....how does everyone hook up to shore power at home just to cool your fridge/freezer before heading out on a trip? I am just running the generator a couple hours before heading out now and that is doing the trick but don't want to run up the hours on my genny! It only has 412 hrs on it and I know they last a long time up to 10-1500 hrs I am told if you do regular maintenance on it. I have looked into have a 50 plug in set up like at an RV park...our hot tub uses a 50 amp also, but, ouch the expense....up to $1200 clams!!! So, I have a 50 amp cable, a 50 to 30 amp adapter, and a 30-110 adapter....can I go 50-30 adapter to 30-110 adapter and plug into my outlet in my garage or is that a no-no? Don't want to fry anything! Suggestions?
Do you have a residential fridge in your 17 Hurricane? Or a propane/120 VAC fridge? If not residential you don't need to run the generator but you can still plug into your house's duplex receptacle to run the fridge on 120 VAC and keep your batteries charged, otherwise it should cool on propane just fine.
__________________
Ted & Melinda
2016 ACE 27.1
2016 Chevy Sonic Toad
2020 Chevy Colorado Z71 Trail Runner Alternate Toad
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2021, 09:26 PM   #19
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 32N
State: California
Posts: 13
THOR #17539
I had a 50 Amp receptacle installed in the garage for $300.00 works great and keeps storage batteries charged... only charge on weekends and before a trip for the refrigerator!!!
__________________
philj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2021, 09:39 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Vegas 24.1
State: Florida
Posts: 651
THOR #5313
I am plugged in all the time. At home I have 30 amp connection. Many other places a 20 amp circuit works fine for fridge and A/C. I have the 15k A/C and never trip 20 amp.

Our friidge is never off, we use for overflow and RV rarely sits more than 2 weeks at a time. Have only defrosted twice in 5 years.

When idle, we keep A/C on 80 to 82 to keep inside dry. This helps slow ice buildup in fridge.

Before trip we fill fidge a couple days before departing and lower A/C night before or morning of departure.

Doing this never seems to add more than $15 or $20 to bill at most. Even living in it spring in Charleston with A/C on for 2.5 weeks only bumped bill less than $50.
__________________
Muggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 08:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2