Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Community Forums > Thor Owners Community Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-30-2018, 11:44 AM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Georgia
THOR #10374
Looking for tow vehicle

Ok folks, I’m new at this, and I’m trying to decide on a new tow vehicle, and method of towing. Suggestions Please.

Old 01-30-2018, 12:12 PM   #2

Model: 2016 A.C.E. 30.1
State: South Carolina
THOR #5641
First check out this site to see a list of cars you can tow 4 wheels down.
Downloadable Dinghy Guides | Motorhome Magazine
We tow a 2016 Ford Focus using the Falcon Tow Bar and Stay-N-Play breaks. Hooking the car up takes me around 5 minutes and I don't really feel it behind me as I'm driving. It did cost me around $3500 for the set-up.
I did start out using a ACME Tow Dolly. With the dolly you have more options on what cars you can use, but does take longer to hook up and unhook. You also have to stop and check the straps and I have had a strap break and come loose. I like the flat towing better (4 wheels down), it gave us more peace of mind.
Dippytwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2018, 12:13 PM   #3
Axis/Vegas Enthusiast

Model: Axis 24.4
State: Michigan
THOR #1150
Which are you looking for? Are you looking for a car to pull behind a motorhome? or a truck to pull a trailer?

If you're looking for a car its "toad" (tow vehicle implies the vehicle in front doing the towing).

Ok I'm done being pedantic.

A lot of people recommend Jeeps as toads. They are probably the easiest vehicle to setup for four down towing.