Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Community Forums > Thor Owners Community Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-16-2022, 05:50 PM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Sequence
State: Michigan
THOR #28260
LP Tank filling

All of the LP filling stations require inspection of the tank certification stamps before filling, where have you found is best for filling onboard LP tanks mounted underneath and out site for inspection?

Old 10-16-2022, 06:19 PM   #2

Model: Miramar
State: California
THOR #22927
Take it to a propane company, Suburban, or Amer gas, they can certify for you.
Old 10-16-2022, 06:25 PM   #3

Model: Miramar
THOR #22927
If you are talking about the 80 gallon, tank under the motor home. I am no expert. But I have read they are thicker, and buildt more durable than the 8-10 gallon tanks. That is why they do not require inspection.

Good luck.
Old 10-16-2022, 09:32 PM   #4

THOR #28260
Thank you I will do that
Old 10-16-2022, 11:50 PM   #5
Site Team

Brand: Entegra
Model: Accolade 37TS
State: South Dakota
THOR #1469
The tank should already have a manufactured/certification date stamped near the valve. It could be filled in with paint so look close.

If the tank is empty some places may want to purge it with Nitrogen before filling with LPG.

Did you buy the rig new without getting a full tank of LPG?
Old 10-17-2022, 12:28 AM   #6

THOR #28260
It's a Thor Sequence class B unit with an undermount tank, I am just now emptying the tank that came full when I bought it and getting ready to fill it. I had a U Haul store give me a hard time about an external tank so I started looking around this tank that up under the frame and realized there isn't a way to see the markings.

I'll try a few places around SW Michigan including a propane automotive gas station.