Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Community Forums > Thor Owners Community Discussions
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-03-2017, 02:12 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Virginia
Posts: 315
THOR #7607
Tfryman, be careful with that cabling, cat5 does not have the insulation that is needed for carrying 110AC circuits.
__________________

__________________
ComputerChips
ComputerChips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2017, 02:51 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2015 Vegas 25.2
State: Oregon
Posts: 911
THOR #2271
Quote:
Originally Posted by ComputerChips View Post
Tfryman, be careful with that cabling, cat5 does not have the insulation that is needed for carrying 110AC circuits.
I have to agree. Cat5 was NEVER meant to carry 110V 30-50A load. It will get hot and the insulation will melt. Eventually it will short. Perhaps sparking a fire. DO NOT DO THIS!
__________________

__________________
Added: HWH Kick-Down Leveler; RoadMaster Anti-sway bars; Tornado Rotary Tank Rinser; Accede Backup Sensor Kit; cylinder locks (w/one combo lock); custom sink cover; Kenwood DDX 5706S front radio; Pioneer MVH-X5560BT rear radio; Oxygenics Shower head; ScanGuage II; Blue Ox Tow Bar w/RVi Brake 2; Winegard Rayzar Automatic TV antenna; Trimark Steel door lock; Dometic 310 toilet; whatever is next.
gbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2017, 03:57 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
Mike in AZ's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Challenger 37LX
State: Arizona
Posts: 506
THOR #7863
I've been reading various threads and forums the past hour, after reading this thread. I finally realize I should just ask!

My Challenger is 50 amp. If I go to a CG with only 30 amp hookups, am I better off using a dogbone connector like this one:

https://www.amazon.com/Camco-55185-P...trical+adapter

Or a Progressive Industries adapter like this one:

https://www.amazon.com/Progressive-I...b4fbf9e8af3903

I have a Progressive 50 amp surge protector, if that matters.

Thanks!
__________________
__________
Mike
USAF Veteran, Retired Security Professional
The only thing necessary for evil to prosper,
Is that good men do nothing.
Mike in AZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2017, 05:26 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Virginia
Posts: 315
THOR #7607
GBrown, It's not carrying the "load" (it couldn't) but is is carrying the AC line voltage to the meter on that one input. The other input is carrying an induced voltage produced when the load passes through that coil "pickup" sensor. That iallows it to monitor the amperage load so tbe meter can present that value.
__________________
ComputerChips
ComputerChips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2017, 05:35 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Virginia
Posts: 315
THOR #7607
Mike, they both do the same thing. Some folks like the flexabilty of the corded version. Some outlets may have covers that might prevent the non corded version to be inserted along with the power cord attatched.
__________________
ComputerChips
ComputerChips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2017, 10:57 PM   #26
I Think We're Lost!
 
Bob Denman's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
State: New York
Posts: 16,124
THOR #8860
Here's a question for you gurus...

I thought that I had a 30 amp hook-up in my garage...
...But it was a plug for a dryer!
My questions: does that dryer plug have a 30 capacity?
If so: does anyone make a 30 amp to dryer plug converter?
__________________
Good Sam Member 843599689
Current coach: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
"History shows again and again; how Nature points out the folly of Man!"
Bob Denman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2017, 11:07 PM   #27
gmc
Senior Member
 
gmc's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 32A
State: Florida
Posts: 1,869
THOR #2829
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Denman View Post
Here's a question for you gurus...

I thought that I had a 30 amp hook-up in my garage...
...But it was a plug for a dryer!
My questions: does that dryer plug have a 30 capacity?
If so: does anyone make a 30 amp to dryer plug converter?
Careful... Quick way to fry an RV....
The 30A RV plug is unique. It is 110v with a hot, neutral, and ground....

Dryer plugs are 220v... If 3 prong then hot, hot, ground.... No safe way to adapt.
Same for most welder outlets.
__________________
Greg
Not yet retired...
Florida (Michigan transplant)
2014 Hurricane 32A
2000 Infinity (previous)
gmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2017, 11:28 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2015 Vegas 25.2
State: Oregon
Posts: 911
THOR #2271
Don't attempt this. The dryer circuit is 220V. You will destroy your RV if you attempt it.
__________________
Added: HWH Kick-Down Leveler; RoadMaster Anti-sway bars; Tornado Rotary Tank Rinser; Accede Backup Sensor Kit; cylinder locks (w/one combo lock); custom sink cover; Kenwood DDX 5706S front radio; Pioneer MVH-X5560BT rear radio; Oxygenics Shower head; ScanGuage II; Blue Ox Tow Bar w/RVi Brake 2; Winegard Rayzar Automatic TV antenna; Trimark Steel door lock; Dometic 310 toilet; whatever is next.
gbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2017, 12:06 AM   #29
Site Team
 
16ACE27's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 5,016
THOR #7035
Quote:
Originally Posted by ComputerChips View Post
Tfryman, be careful with that cabling, cat5 does not have the insulation that is needed for carrying 110AC circuits.
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbrown View Post
I have to agree. Cat5 was NEVER meant to carry 110V 30-50A load. It will get hot and the insulation will melt. Eventually it will short. Perhaps sparking a fire. DO NOT DO THIS!
Wrong on all counts:

CAT5 Plenum cable is rated for 300 Volts"
Quote:
Cat5e Plenum Cable Ratings:
  • Tested to 350 MHz for Zo, Next, RL, Atten, PSNext, Elfext, PSEIFext and Skew
  • Maximum Operating Cable Temperature: 75įC
  • Voltage Rating: 300V
And there is basically no current going through the CAT5 cable, both the voltage and current sensing lines are actually measuring voltage so they are high impedance, low current (almost no current) sensing devices.

There is no "30-50 A load" in these cables: the current transformer increases sensed voltage as the AC current increases.
__________________
Ted & Melinda
2016 ACE 27.1
2016 Chevy Sonic Toad
2020 Chevy Colorado Z71 Trail Runner Alternate Toad
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2017, 12:16 AM   #30
Site Team
 
16ACE27's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 5,016
THOR #7035
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Denman View Post
Here's a question for you gurus...

I thought that I had a 30 amp hook-up in my garage...
...But it was a plug for a dryer!
My questions: does that dryer plug have a 30 capacity?
If so: does anyone make a 30 amp to dryer plug converter?
If an adapter existed (I don't know of any that do), it would do the same thing that a 50 Amp to 30 Amp dogbone adapter does except the source in the case of the dryer is normally breakered at 30 Amps.

So if your dryer plug is 4 conductor (most modern ones are) and you knew what you were doing, you could tap into that plug receptacle box and mount a 30 Amp RV receptacle next to it, but that probably would be per code as you would only use one of the two hot legs for the RV.
__________________
Ted & Melinda
2016 ACE 27.1
2016 Chevy Sonic Toad
2020 Chevy Colorado Z71 Trail Runner Alternate Toad
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2017, 01:10 AM   #31
Senior Member
 
Travelin' Texans's Avatar
 
Brand: Redwood
State: Texas
Posts: 1,189
THOR #3610
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike in AZ View Post
I've been reading various threads and forums the past hour, after reading this thread. I finally realize I should just ask!

My Challenger is 50 amp. If I go to a CG with only 30 amp hookups, am I better off using a dogbone connector like this one:

https://www.amazon.com/Camco-55185-P...trical+adapter

Or a Progressive Industries adapter like this one:

https://www.amazon.com/Progressive-I...b4fbf9e8af3903

I have a Progressive 50 amp surge protector, if that matters.

Thanks!
Use the dog bone one, those little hockey puck ones in the past have been fire hazards, they got VERY hot & melted, maybe they've changed the design, but I wouldn't chance it.
__________________
Danny & Linda
Sold our '13 Thor Redwood 36 FB
Currently RV & truckless
Replacement undetermined
Travelin' Texans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2017, 01:42 AM   #32
Senior Member
 
SuperD's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2017 Windsport 29M
State: Indiana
Posts: 3,692
THOR #5196
I absolutely agree with TT, the little adapter has a bad tendency to overheat and sometimes melt, not something you want to happen! Get a good quality dogbone adapter like the one from Amazon. I also carry the 30 to 15 dogbone so I can keep batteries charged at home. Plug both adapters in a chain then you can use 15 amp, won't run AC but will allow you to precool your fridge.
__________________
USMC Veteran
FMCA 101070S

Dave & Myra
One day your life will flash before your eyes,
make sure it's worth watching!
SuperD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2017, 03:30 AM   #33
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Virginia
Posts: 315
THOR #7607
Tfryman, you have the right size wire ( 3 #10 )
__________________
ComputerChips
ComputerChips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2017, 04:10 AM   #34
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Virginia
Posts: 315
THOR #7607
Whoops I wasn't finished. You should have 3 or more #10 conductors. So you could install a single pole 30 amp breaker in the panel. (In a new opening or swap out the old double pole 30 breaker and use a filler plate for the unused space. Choose a spot so that the old white wire will reach the neutral buss and the black wire will reach the breaker, if you put it in a new spot). Then replace the dryer outlet with a 30 amp single pole outlet ( RV ).
You have to be careful to connect the hot/black to the correct prong on the outlet and the neutral/white on the correct prong and the ground/bare or green on the correct prong.
If your one of the guys with a special surge protector you will certainty want to test your new outlet before use to be sure it's right.
__________________
ComputerChips
ComputerChips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2017, 11:47 AM   #35
I Think We're Lost!
 
Bob Denman's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
State: New York
Posts: 16,124
THOR #8860
Thanks guys!
Now that i know what is possible: a call to my Brother-In-Law (The Electrician), is on my "To-Do" list!
__________________
Good Sam Member 843599689
Current coach: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
"History shows again and again; how Nature points out the folly of Man!"
Bob Denman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2017, 07:15 PM   #36
Senior Member
 
Mike in AZ's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Challenger 37LX
State: Arizona
Posts: 506
THOR #7863
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperD View Post
I absolutely agree with TT, the little adapter has a bad tendency to overheat and sometimes melt, not something you want to happen! Get a good quality dogbone adapter like the one from Amazon. I also carry the 30 to 15 dogbone so I can keep batteries charged at home. Plug both adapters in a chain then you can use 15 amp, won't run AC but will allow you to precool your fridge.
Thanks Dave! I wondered if that was possible. That's going to be very handy, being able to plug into an outside outlet at home and run the fridge overnight before a trip!

BTW, just learned something about this forum's "Thanks" feature. I tried thanking you for this post, but it said "you have to spread the thanks around to others before thanking SuperD again." Weird!
__________________
__________
Mike
USAF Veteran, Retired Security Professional
The only thing necessary for evil to prosper,
Is that good men do nothing.
Mike in AZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2017, 07:52 PM   #37
Senior Member
 
SuperD's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2017 Windsport 29M
State: Indiana
Posts: 3,692
THOR #5196
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike in AZ View Post
Thanks Dave! I wondered if that was possible. That's going to be very handy, being able to plug into an outside outlet at home and run the fridge overnight before a trip!

BTW, just learned something about this forum's "Thanks" feature. I tried thanking you for this post, but it said "you have to spread the thanks around to others before thanking SuperD again." Weird!
LOL! No thanks are necessary, glad I could assist!
__________________

__________________
USMC Veteran
FMCA 101070S

Dave & Myra
One day your life will flash before your eyes,
make sure it's worth watching!
SuperD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 08:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
×