Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
 

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Community Forums > Thor Owners Community Discussions
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-30-2021, 03:33 AM   #1
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Arizona
Posts: 84
THOR #22044
Plugging into house current

Getting ready for a trip and want to know what is the best way to plug my thor hurricane 34J into my house current so I can cool off the fridge before a trip for water and soft drinks....can I run my 50amp cord to an adapter that will plug into my extension cord from my garage, or, do I need to plug in the 50 to 30amp adapter then to the 30amp to 110 adapter? Or should I just turn on the generator and inverter for the fridge for a couple hours before we leave to cool it off.

__________________
inlyzbldcj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2021, 03:38 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: XG 32 Omni
State: Missouri
Posts: 422
THOR #4243
I would just do the 50-30-110 adapter, I have done that several times with no issue.
__________________
kwplot34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2021, 03:42 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: '17-Vegas 24.1
State: California
Posts: 1,594
THOR #13362
I regularly plug into a 15amp circuit in my garage
I use a standard ď30amp to 15ampĒ plug.
You can reduce from 50 to 15 if you desire.
But just be aware that you canít power much of anything from a 15amp circuit. Especially if you add standard extension cords to the line.
__________________
'17 Vegas 24.1
Fallbrook, CA
taylorbob1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2021, 03:56 AM   #4
Site Team
 
EA37TS's Avatar
 
Brand: Entegra
Model: Accolade 37TS
State: South Carolina
Posts: 5,773
THOR #1469
Some RVs do not like being plugged into a GFCI protected circuit
__________________
EA37TS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2021, 04:01 AM   #5
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Arizona
Posts: 84
THOR #22044
50amp breaker

I have a 50amp breaker installed for my hot tub....could I also get a plug in and another 50amp breaker put in the box for just that plug? I mean is that possible? So, it would be like I was plugging into shore power at a park.
__________________
inlyzbldcj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2021, 09:58 AM   #6
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Aria
State: New Jersey
Posts: 94
THOR #17864
I had a 50 amp done that at my house and its really convenient. Just make sure that you electrician knows that this is going to an RV. It's really a split 120V service. I have heard stories of electricians mistakenly wiring it as 240V.
__________________
Gene & Shari & Odie our Newfoundland
2019 Aria 3901
2018 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk
Blue Ox Tow Kit
Newf026 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2021, 10:07 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
OldWEB's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: FW Hurricane
State: England
Posts: 538
THOR #16471
Quote:
Originally Posted by inlyzbldcj View Post
I have a 50amp breaker installed for my hot tub....could I also get a plug in and another 50amp breaker put in the box for just that plug? I mean is that possible? So, it would be like I was plugging into shore power at a park.
Why do I feel that you are asking if you can connect to the hot tub circuit? No you cannot do that, but yes you can wire in your own RV 50A receptacle from the main breaker panel... if there is room in it for the breaker. As mentioned by Newf026, it has to be a 120/240 circuit.
__________________
OldWEB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2021, 11:15 AM   #8
Site Team
 
16ACE27's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 6,422
THOR #7035
Quote:
Originally Posted by Newf026 View Post
I had a 50 amp done that at my house and its really convenient. Just make sure that you electrician knows that this is going to an RV. It's really a split 120V service. I have heard stories of electricians mistakenly wiring it as 240V.
Because it is 240 VAC service. The problem is ignorant people (some electricians resemble that remark) that wire an RV 30 amp 120 VAC plug for 240 VAC.

An RV 50 amp 240 VAC service is a STANDARD configuration used by many 240 VAC appliances.
__________________
Ted & Melinda
2016 ACE 27.1
2016 Chevy Sonic Toad
2020 Chevy Colorado Z71 Trail Runner Alternate Toad
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2021, 11:41 AM   #9
I Think We're Lost!
 
Bob Denman's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
State: New York
Posts: 20,563
THOR #8860
Aren't there any "50 to 20" adapters out there?
__________________
"Klaatu barada nikto"
Good Sam Member 843599689
Current coach: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
Bob Denman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2021, 12:38 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Popfla's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2019 Freedom Elite 30FE
State: Florida
Posts: 618
THOR #14543
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Denman View Post
Aren't there any "50 to 20" adapters out there?
Yep.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2020-12-05.png
Views:	49
Size:	234.7 KB
ID:	30158  
__________________
Ed
2019 Thor Freedom Elite 30FE w/2020 Jeep Gladiator Toad
Living The Dream in "God's Waiting Room"
Popfla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2021, 12:38 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Missouri
Posts: 1,460
THOR #6903
It is 240v for 50 amp

The confusion is over 30 amp services
Quote:
Originally Posted by Newf026 View Post
I had a 50 amp done that at my house and its really convenient. Just make sure that you electrician knows that this is going to an RV. It's really a split 120V service. I have heard stories of electricians mistakenly wiring it as 240V.
__________________
lwmcguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2021, 12:40 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Missouri
Posts: 1,460
THOR #6903
Absolutely

My newer welders, car charger, hot tub and so on all have the same receptacles
Quote:
Originally Posted by 16ACE27 View Post
Because it is 240 VAC service. The problem is ignorant people (some electricians resemble that remark) that wire an RV 30 amp 120 VAC plug for 240 VAC.

An RV 50 amp 240 VAC service is a STANDARD configuration used by many 240 VAC appliances.
__________________
lwmcguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2021, 12:56 PM   #13
Axis/Vegas Enthusiast
 
JamieGeek's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 24.1
State: Michigan
Posts: 9,434
THOR #1150
Quote:
Originally Posted by lwmcguire View Post
Absolutely

My newer welders, car charger, hot tub and so on all have the same receptacles
Some car chargers use the 14-50 plug like RVs do; sometimes the electrician installs something like a 6-50 which doesn't have the neutral and thus won't work for a 50a RV (or a 30a for that matter).
__________________
2014 Thor Axis 24.1
2021 Mach-E
blog - https://spareelectrons.wordpress.com/
JamieGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2021, 12:59 PM   #14
I Think We're Lost!
 
Bob Denman's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
State: New York
Posts: 20,563
THOR #8860
Quote:
Originally Posted by Popfla View Post
Yep.
That's what the O.P. needs...
(I like to keep things as simple as possible...)
__________________
"Klaatu barada nikto"
Good Sam Member 843599689
Current coach: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
Bob Denman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2021, 02:51 PM   #15
Site Team
 
EA37TS's Avatar
 
Brand: Entegra
Model: Accolade 37TS
State: South Carolina
Posts: 5,773
THOR #1469
Quote:
Originally Posted by inlyzbldcj View Post
I have a 50amp breaker installed for my hot tub....could I also get a plug in and another 50amp breaker put in the box for just that plug? I mean is that possible? So, it would be like I was plugging into shore power at a park.
Yes you can get another 50 amp breaker and plug installed.

At the sticks and bricks we have a spa and it runs on 220 50 amp. We also had a 30 amp plug installed when we bought a class c a number of years ago which was a mistake because I then had that changed to 50 amp for the Challenger and everything except the metal box had to be changed. Should have went 50 amp to begin with.

If you have the resources get an electrician to install an RV 50 amp plug. You'll be happier in the long run.
__________________
Dave
US Army (Ret)
2020 Entegra Accolade 37TS
2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee Trailhawk (Toad)
FMCA - F432054
EA37TS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2021, 04:06 PM   #16
CDA
Junior Member
 
CDA's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Palazzo 33.6
State: California
Posts: 29
THOR #23007
In the meantime - 50-30-110, turn on fridge, cool down drinks, unplug and enjoy the trip.....
__________________
2021 Palazzo 33.6
CDA Racing
HBMC
CDA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2021, 05:26 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2016 Freedom Elite 28H
State: Florida
Posts: 186
THOR #1929
We are pretty fortunate. Our RV is on the side of our house and I have 30 amp service to it. I live in Florida and I have my AC ON all the time set at 75. Before camping turn the fridge on couple iof days before load up. When we get back from a trip. AC on fridge on. Take our time unloading.
__________________
Rich
RichS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2021, 05:52 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Missouri
Posts: 1,460
THOR #6903
Everything varies a bit by local code interpretation

All my newer high amp equipment has 4 prong plugs and should have a ground, of course they work fine without

Given I have been around a long time I survived as did everyone back in the day without ground wires

Most folks get into trouble trying to run their RV on a 15-20 amp outlet combined with a 14-16 gauge extension

If you need an extension use 10 gauge or larger

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamieGeek View Post
Some car chargers use the 14-50 plug like RVs do; sometimes the electrician installs something like a 6-50 which doesn't have the neutral and thus won't work for a 50a RV (or a 30a for that matter).
__________________
lwmcguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2021, 06:29 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2016 Freedom Elite 28H
State: Florida
Posts: 186
THOR #1929
My 30 amp service is with the 3 prong RV plug. 10 gauge wire with its own 30 amp breaker.
__________________
Rich
RichS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2021, 02:06 PM   #20
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Alabama
Posts: 19
THOR #22656
This may help. You will need a 3 conductor with a ground to wire an RV 50 amp circuit. Most strictly 240V circuits (hot tubs, home AC’s, etc) have 2 conductor with a ground. Since RV’s are 120V, you need 3 conductors (2 hot wires and one neutral wire) along with a ground so your RV will have 2- 120V circuits. This is similar to your power panel on your home, each side of your panel is 120V (but 180 degree out of phase with each other).
If you measure each hot wire to the neutral it will read 120V, if you measure across the hot wires it will read 240V
It is important if you install a 4 wire 50A receptacle to assure the wires are landed in the correct location to avoid having one of the hot wires landed where the neutral goes which would light one of the 120V sides with 240V.
__________________
Overtime is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 11:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2