RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
 

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Community Forums > Thor Owners Community Discussions
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-28-2015, 01:03 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: New Jersey
Posts: 10
THOR #2322
Refrigerator

'15 Miramar with residential frig - Whirlpool.

I am looking for a way to plug the refer in before a trip to get it cold.

Unlike my other dometics, I can't find an outside vent to pass a cord thru.

Any suggestions?

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
capemayal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2015, 02:06 AM   #2
Site Team
 
EA37TS's Avatar
 
Brand: Entegra
Model: Accolade 37TS
State: Virginia
Posts: 4,902
THOR #1469
Quote:
Originally Posted by capemayal View Post
'15 Miramar with residential frig - Whirlpool.

I am looking for a way to plug the refer in before a trip to get it cold.

Unlike my other dometics, I can't find an outside vent to pass a cord thru.

Any suggestions?

Thanks.
I am assuming it is at your house. Why not turn on the inverter and enable the AGS and turn on the fridge. When the house batteries run down the AGS will fire up the generator until they are recharged.

Either that or run the cord through a window.
__________________

__________________
Dave
US Army (Ret)
2020 Entegra Accolade 37TS
2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee Trailhawk (Toad)
FMCA - F432054
EA37TS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2015, 02:14 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: New Jersey
Posts: 10
THOR #2322
I am storing the rig at a storage facility with access to 110v. Assuming I can't use the gen as you suggested, and run a wire through the window, where would the cord for the frig be? I see at the bottom of the frig there is a framed area with a "screen" over it. Should I assume to remove that screen and the plug will be there? I think that would be the easiest. But, it never did occur to me your original suggestion. Thanks.
__________________
capemayal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2015, 11:57 AM   #4
Site Team
 
EA37TS's Avatar
 
Brand: Entegra
Model: Accolade 37TS
State: Virginia
Posts: 4,902
THOR #1469
Quote:
Originally Posted by capemayal View Post
I am storing the rig at a storage facility with access to 110v. Assuming I can't use the gen as you suggested, and run a wire through the window, where would the cord for the frig be? I see at the bottom of the frig there is a framed area with a "screen" over it. Should I assume to remove that screen and the plug will be there? I think that would be the easiest. But, it never did occur to me your original suggestion. Thanks.
On my Challenger I remove the bottom drawer in the cabinets next to the refrigerator and that gives me access to the refrigerators plug and also to the ice maker valve. If you do not have a cabinet with drawers next to the frig then the access will probably be through that screen. This brings up the question about whether or not your ice maker has been de-winterized.
__________________
Dave
US Army (Ret)
2020 Entegra Accolade 37TS
2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee Trailhawk (Toad)
FMCA - F432054
EA37TS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2015, 12:16 PM   #5
Axis/Vegas Enthusiast
 
JamieGeek's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 24.1
State: Michigan
Posts: 9,241
THOR #1150
This confuses me: what is the reasoning for plugging in just the refer vs simply plugging in the RV and leaving everything off but the refer?

You could even leave all the breakers off except the refer to ensure nothing else runs.

Is there something you can't tun off in the larger units that would preclude you from simply plugging it in?
__________________
2014 Thor Axis 24.1
2021 Mach-E
blog - https://spareelectrons.wordpress.com/
JamieGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2015, 02:13 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Brand: Still Looking
State: Texas
Posts: 4,949
THOR #2121
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamieGeek View Post
This confuses me: what is the reasoning for plugging in just the refer vs simply plugging in the RV and leaving everything off but the refer?

You could even leave all the breakers off except the refer to ensure nothing else runs.

Is there something you can't tun off in the larger units that would preclude you from simply plugging it in?
I'm also confused. I always plugged my RV to a 15-Amp service at home using an adaptor. I didn't turn any breakers off because as long as the AC and microwave didn't run everything else did. It would seem like the simplest way to keep the fridge cold.
__________________
Chance is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2015, 03:04 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 37KT
State: Illinois
Posts: 11
THOR #978
I put a battery charger on the batteries and run the refer normally. The charger has a maint. mode to prevent overcharging the batteries.
__________________
dsheets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2015, 03:16 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: California
Posts: 22
THOR #1579
I have a 2014 Miramar 34.2.
Before each trip I simply plug in a 110 vac extension cord from my house to the RV. Connect to the shore power plug thru an adapter. Inside turn on the inverter, turn on the refridgerator, select the desired temperature. You will also see the microwave panel flashing and the red power indicator on your TV's.
__________________
sdconner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2015, 03:43 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Brand: Still Looking
State: Texas
Posts: 4,949
THOR #2121
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsheets View Post
I put a battery charger on the batteries and run the refer normally. The charger has a maint. mode to prevent overcharging the batteries.
You raise a good point. I never kept mine on shore power for long periods -- just a day or two while cleaning and loading. Overcharging battery would not be worse than being at a campground on shore power for a couple of days.

I expect that most motorhomes that have residential refrigerators that only operate on 110 Volts also have inverters to power them so generator doesn't have to run too much. Potential problems with batteries may depend on type of equipment and how it's wired in.

If it were up to me, I'd want my RV to have an inverter/charger, and many of the quality ones have three-stage battery charging which should also prevent overcharging. In that case just plugging in should take care of everything regardless of how long it was left on shore power.
__________________
Chance is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2015, 03:51 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: California
Posts: 22
THOR #1579
Roger that.
__________________
sdconner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2015, 01:58 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: New Jersey
Posts: 10
THOR #2322
Think I've got it

I turned the inverter on, but left the batteries in storage mode.

I then used shore power with a 15a adapter.

The refer does start, but nothing on the microwave. I thought I would see something. I didn't look to see the TV light.

I did not use the AGS.

So, can I assume that the refer is on shore power?

I checked several hours later, and the inverter showed 12.2v.

Thanks,
Al
__________________
capemayal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2015, 02:06 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: California
Posts: 22
THOR #1579
If you open the door and the interior light comes on the refrigerator is on.
Turn up the thermostat and listen for the compressor to turn on.
__________________
sdconner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2015, 02:35 PM   #13
Site Team
 
EA37TS's Avatar
 
Brand: Entegra
Model: Accolade 37TS
State: Virginia
Posts: 4,902
THOR #1469
Quote:
Originally Posted by capemayal View Post
I turned the inverter on, but left the batteries in storage mode.

I then used shore power with a 15a adapter.

The refer does start, but nothing on the microwave. I thought I would see something. I didn't look to see the TV light.

I did not use the AGS.

So, can I assume that the refer is on shore power?

I checked several hours later, and the inverter showed 12.2v.

Thanks,
Al
If the batteries are in store mode the inverter should not be drawing any battery power and the inverter control panel should be reading the battery voltage. That inverter control panel will be a drain on the batteries.

I assume that with the batteries in store mode and you hooked in through a 15amp adapter you are using shore power. As to the microwave, whenever mine is disconnected from power the control panel goes blank so unless I hit the clock button there is no indication of power.

Since my rig is outside the house connected to 50 Amp shore power I'll go out in a little bit and try a couple of scenarios and let you know how they work out. What I expect to find is when connected and batteries in store mode the fridge TVs and MW function as usual regardless of the inverter being on or off.

As a note, you may e facing a condition when power loads are being aged based on the available amperage of the shore power connection.
__________________
Dave
US Army (Ret)
2020 Entegra Accolade 37TS
2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee Trailhawk (Toad)
FMCA - F432054
EA37TS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2015, 02:59 PM   #14
Site Team
 
EA37TS's Avatar
 
Brand: Entegra
Model: Accolade 37TS
State: Virginia
Posts: 4,902
THOR #1469
The rest of the story

Went out to the coach and ran a couple of scenarios and here are the results:

Shore power connected and batteries in store mod
  • Inverter off - everything works to include fridge, MW an TVs.
  • Inverter on - Inverter control panel reads voltage gong to the batteries (13.1 volts) and the source indicator light (upper left corner of the inverter control panel) is green.
Shore power disconnected and batteries n store mode:
  • Inverter off - nothing functions
  • Inverter on - refrigerator and TVs operate and the MW dos not operate. The Inverter control panel reads battery voltage (12.9) volts and the source light is yellow indicating battery power in use.
Hopefully this helps.
__________________
Dave
US Army (Ret)
2020 Entegra Accolade 37TS
2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee Trailhawk (Toad)
FMCA - F432054
EA37TS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2015, 01:40 AM   #15
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: New Jersey
Posts: 10
THOR #2322
Thanks

I'm going to check this tomorrow. Thanks.
__________________
capemayal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2015, 03:04 AM   #16
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: California
Posts: 22
THOR #1579
My 2014 Miramar 34.2 works the same as above (dstankov).
__________________

__________________
sdconner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 04:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
×